BoardGameGeek» Forums » Game Groups » New Zealand

Subject: Looking for Auckland Wargaming Group (Not Miniatures Please!) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cameron Taylor
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
“The Russian colossus... has been underestimated by us... whenever a dozen divisions are destroyed the Russians replace them with another dozen.” — Gen. Franz Halder, OKH Chief of Staff (August, 1941)
badge
So serious...
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello BoardGameGeeks,

I'm new to board games and am looking for a wargaming group (not miniature wargaming) in Auckland, preferably on the North Shore.

I started off playing computer wargames, such as Combat Mission: Battle for Normandy, Command Ops, Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue, and Gary Grigsby's War in the East.

Somewhere along the line, I discovered that the low-cost of board game publishing, at least compared to computer games, meant that there was a wealth of sophisticated board wargames. To my surprise, I discovered that Harpoon was actually a board game before it was a computer game.

The wargames I currently own are listed in my profile. I'm interested in historical wargames with hex-and-counter, blocks, area movement, point-to-point movement, card driven, and dice rolling mechanics.

I've tried looking at some of the board gaming clubs, I regularly attend the North Shore Board Games Group in Browns Bay and the Auckland City Guard in Freeman's Bay, but nobody plays wargames.

Cheers,
Cameron
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alistair Stafford
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Go then. There are other worlds than these.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Cameron
I am also at the NS games group (You'll probably see me pop up on the Facebook page a lot)
I have recently started getting into wargames of the non mini type but generally people don't play them on Wednesday evenings usually with friends at the week (while balancing kids, work, etc)