Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does the assassin kill the key? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil Hannay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The assassin card disables a lord's power - but does it also stop the key from counting? My reading of the rules says it does, but it seems a bit too powerful that way?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
Ireland
Sligo
Sligo
flag msg tools
Changed the outfit.
badge
Hope you didn't get too confused!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key is not a power.

It keeps on counting towards the 3 keys you require to control a location.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Cranston
Netherlands
Rotterdam
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It clearly states in the rules that any powers or keys no longer have any effect when it's targeted by The Assassin.

So, you are correct. Only the Victory Points of the Lord that was targeted count at the end of the game.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Désirée Greverud
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Keeper of the Sacred Aardvark
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pedrator wrote:
The key is not a power.

It keeps on counting towards the 3 keys you require to control a location.
assassinated Lords lose their key as well
answer from Bruno himself
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Cranston
Netherlands
Rotterdam
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pedrator wrote:
The key is not a power.

It keeps on counting towards the 3 keys you require to control a location.

No, on the last page of the rule book it clearly states otherwise.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Khonnor wrote:
It clearly states in the rules that any powers or keys no longer have any effect when it's targeted by The Assassin.

So, you are correct. Only the Victory Points of the Lord that was targeted count at the end of the game.

All the features of the card count when scoring locations at the end of the game. If the location scored for each lord with a key, it would count. If the location scored for each lord of a given color, it would count.

It just doesn't count as a key for acquiring locations.


edit for failure
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Cranston
Netherlands
Rotterdam
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mfl134 wrote:
All the features of the card count when scoring locations at the end of the game. If the location scored for each lord with a key, it would count. If the location scored for each lord of a given color, it would count.

It just doesn't count as a key for acquiring locations.

That's not true. It will not score for locations that score for lords with keys. It does keep its color and VP.

Bruno himself gave you that answer in the other thread. ;-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Khonnor wrote:
mfl134 wrote:
All the features of the card count when scoring locations at the end of the game. If the location scored for each lord with a key, it would count. If the location scored for each lord of a given color, it would count.

It just doesn't count as a key for acquiring locations.

That's not true. It will not score for locations that score for lords with keys. It does keep its color and VP.

Bruno himself gave you that answer in the other thread. ;-)
blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henri Berger
msg tools
mbmbmb
xorsyst_uk wrote:
but it seems a bit too powerful that way?

It really is powerful, especially in a 4 players game, but it's not a card that is easy to get, and except it's powerful effect, it's not a card that would give you a lot of points.

Also, when you see it in the court, even if you're not keen on buying it it might slow you down if you wanted to buy a powerful lord that might get killed,

If you get the Assassin lord early game, you'll most likely be aiming towards the power of the lords cards assassinated, rather than their keys.
At this point of the game, losing your key from a useless lord is a actually a rather good thing, this allows you to buy more lords with keys without losing their powers too early by getting 3 keys too fast (it would mean that, not counting yellow female lords, you'd be able to enjoy the semi-permanent power of only one lord, since you'd have one key from an assassinated one, and one key from one who'd be covered at the end of the turn you'd get it, so two powers "losts")

If you get the Assassin lord lategame, sure you can try to target a specific power, but in the last turns the semi-permanent powers won't be useful for long. The key, on the other hand, might lead to a location that would bring 10 points or more.

So when you kill a lord, you're either aiming for the power, either aiming for the key. Sometimes you'd be able to arm a player both powerwise and keywise, but that remain rare. It's a very good move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seb
msg tools
Quick question related to the Assassin:
Does the assassinated Lord count in the 7 lords recruted for the end of game ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matheus Affonso
Brazil
Porto Alegre
RS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shurikn64 wrote:
Quick question related to the Assassin:
Does the assassinated Lord count in the 7 lords recruted for the end of game ?
Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls