Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Catan: Junior» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cant move rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stef McCarter

Poughkeepsie
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Was playing today with my son and in our second game I got blocked in.

The next piece I had to build was a pirate base but my son built a base in the space that was next to my ONLY pirate ship that was next to an open space and I couldn't play a base. Now because of the ship/base/ship/base rule I had nothing I could do.

What should we do when this happens its not covered in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since each player starts with two pirate lairs, you should be able to build at another place.

Dr. Reiner Düren
Catan GmbH
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Waleke
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
or zombies or ...
badge
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas Adams
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
not sure from your post, but you don't have to build a base after you build a ship, just on the board your base must have a ship between it adn the next spot before you can build a base.

I.e. from the starting position you could build two ships, one going in each direction from your starting bases.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stef McCarter

Poughkeepsie
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't explain correctly we were into the ame a few turns.

On my sons turn e placed a base on a open circle. WE both had pirate ships leadin to same circle. My son claimed it and then my turn was to build a base and didn't have any open ships. I was completely blocked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Waleke
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
or zombies or ...
badge
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas Adams
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No I got that but why wouldn't you just build another ship?

Coming either out of your other base or from the backside of your base. If I recall correctly one of your bases has a line on the outside of the hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Waleke
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
or zombies or ...
badge
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas Adams
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So your son would have had to block off both of your bases with ships and forts, which is possible but unlikely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stef McCarter

Poughkeepsie
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That was the confusion. Rules ship ship/base/ship/base alternate.

It was my turn to build a base not a ship didn't know I could build a ship.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Waleke
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
or zombies or ...
badge
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas Adams
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah you could even build two ships and a base in the same turn. The ship and than base rule is just for the board not for what you can do on your turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stef McCarter

Poughkeepsie
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh thanks for clearing that up I miss understood the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Waleke
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
or zombies or ...
badge
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas Adams
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No Problem, I usually assume that my first play of any game from the rules will cause me to miss at least one rule. gulp
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls