Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: removing influence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shannon L
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick question. When an event says for your opponent to remove influence, does your opponent remove the influence or do you?

We have been playing the you remove your own infuence? Is that correct?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc lecours
Canada
ottawa
ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
For example if I am the USA and the voice of america card gets played, then it is the USA player (me) that removes Russian(my opponent) influence markers.

If the socialist government card that gets played, then the USSR player chooses which USA influence markers to remove from western Europe.

I haven't checked all the cards but I believe that in most cases you don't remove your own influence. Most of the time the opponent chooses. Though there are often restrictions (i.e. you can't remove from a controlled country)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Miles
United States
Austin
Texas (TX)
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was looking for the answer to this exact question. When a card like Suez Canal, for example, that requires influence to be removed from Israel, France & the UK with no more than 2 per, does the Soviet get to decide how they will be removed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Engels
United States
Carmel
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pmiles wrote:
I was looking for the answer to this exact question. When a card like Suez Canal, for example, that requires influence to be removed from Israel, France & the UK with no more than 2 per, does the Soviet get to decide how they will be removed?

Since this is a Soviet event (because the star is RED on the card), then yes, the Soviet player decides how to remove the influence.

The Truman Doctrine is a US event (white star), so if the event resolves then the US player gets to choose the target for the event, "Remove all USSR influence markers in one uncontrolled European country."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The player whose event it is carries out any verbs on the card: he removes influence, adds influence, and indeed scores VPs, as the card dictates.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Miles
United States
Austin
Texas (TX)
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I really appreciate the assistance! Now, I'm off to eat some crow. . . .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.