Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Beseiged Strongholds / Companions / the Fellowship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Companions "can never leave or enter a region containing a friendly Stronghold besieged by an enemy." (rulebook, p. 24).

However, "The Fellowship may enter or leave a besieged Stronghold freely." (rulebook, p. 38).

I'm wondering if there's a loophole of sorts here.

If a friendly Stronghold is under siege, could (1) the Fellowship enter the Stronghold and (2) a Companion (or Companions) separate from the Fellowship while there and (3) assist in defending the Stronghold?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Sample
United States
MILFORD
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes

2) Yes - they are not leaving the Stronghold

3) Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.

Every time I re-read the rulebook I pick up something else I didn't
know!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought the fellowship never entered strongholds, only regions, since they're not considered companions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DreamStorm wrote:
I thought the fellowship never entered strongholds, only regions, since they're not considered companions?

Yes, but if a Companion is separated when the Fellowship is in a Region containing a besieged FP Stronghold (FP inside the Stronghold), the Companion gets separated into the siege as it isn't allowed to leave a region containing a besieged FP Army.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Makes thematic sense to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James McMillan
Scotland
Cupar
Fife
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Veldrin wrote:
DreamStorm wrote:
I thought the fellowship never entered strongholds, only regions, since they're not considered companions?

Yes, but if a Companion is separated when the Fellowship is in a Region containing a besieged FP Stronghold (FP inside the Stronghold), the Companion gets separated into the siege as it isn't allowed to leave a region containing a besieged FP Army.

So why can't the companion just exist on its own outside the stronghold?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My simple answer: Thematicly speaking they cannot really abandon the free peoples, they are sort of their heroes and leaders.

Gamewise: As FP you would remove your companions just before the siege ends, such that you can preserve them for later battles. In my opinion that does not sound really fair or balanced.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drjmcmillan wrote:
So why can't the companion just exist on its own outside the stronghold?
I believe the answer is if the FSP is in a Stronghold region, it is always in the Stronghold, or at least there is no provision for it not to be. So if a Companion separates within a besieged Stronghold, he cannot leave it - mechanics-wise only the FSP is that sneaky/lucky, and thematically the Companions are held back by duty once they've resigned from the quest of the ring. For Companions exit/entry of a Stronghold under siege is by exception only (via Event card play - in via Gwaihir or We Prove The Swifter, out via Deadmen of Dunharrow - plus a certain freshly reincarnated wizard airdropped into an Elven Stronghold).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric LotR
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 39 under separating companions: "Note that if the Ring-bearers figure is currently located in a region containing a Stronghold under siege that is controlled by the Free Peoples, the Companion(s) will separate into the Stronghold and may not leave."

I found that just now. I learn something new each time I look at the rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls