Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Victory calculation question, with possible tie-breaks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Man
msg tools
10 point game


OK , let's say I have 7 points on the Glory track, and 5 points for stashed Gold. 12 points. I declare victory

Opponent A has 8 points on the Glory track. No points for his Stash

Opponent B has 8 points on the Glory Track, and 2 points for his Stash


Who wins? Who is second?

I am trying to understand the process of determining the winner
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Bowles
Australia
Tatura
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would have said you do on 12 points - 2 points clear of second, as stashed gold points are only counted separately for a breaker, if I remember correctly.

Now if you were on 5 and 5, versus 8 and 2 (for 10 GP each) then the tie breaker would give it to 8 and 2.. again IIRC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leon Stansfield
Austria
Vienna
European Union
flag msg tools
badge
live and die on one day
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the rule book is very clear in this regard (page 3):

*) the most points on the glory track wins
if there is a tie then
*) the player with the largest amount of stash wins (of course compared only between the tied players)
if there is still a tie
*) tied players wins

By your example the result is:

*) Opponent B wins (8 points on the glory track, 2 points for his stash)
*) Opponent A is second (8 points on the glory track, no points for his stash)
*) You are third (7 points on the glory track, 5 points for your stash)

In this stage of the game you shouldn't declare victory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Bowles
Australia
Tatura
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jumpwalker wrote:
the rule book is very clear in this regard (page 3):

*) the most points on the glory track wins
if there is a tie then
*) the player with the largest amount of stash wins (of course compared only between the tied players)
if there is still a tie
*) tied players wins

By your example the result is:

*) Opponent B wins (8 points on the glory track, 2 points for his stash)
*) Opponent A is second (8 points on the glory track, no points for his stash)
*) You are third (7 points on the glory track, 5 points for your stash)

In this stage of the game you shouldn't declare victory.

I understood the original example to be
a winner on 12 (7+5)
then one player on 10 (8+2)
the next player is on 8 points total (0 stash)

so no tie breakers were necessary.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Ramus
msg tools
designer
Ora et Labora
badge
In Saecula Saeculorum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
balzi wrote:
jumpwalker wrote:
the rule book is very clear in this regard (page 3):

*) the most points on the glory track wins
if there is a tie then
*) the player with the largest amount of stash wins (of course compared only between the tied players)
if there is still a tie
*) tied players wins

By your example the result is:

*) Opponent B wins (8 points on the glory track, 2 points for his stash)
*) Opponent A is second (8 points on the glory track, no points for his stash)
*) You are third (7 points on the glory track, 5 points for your stash)

In this stage of the game you shouldn't declare victory.

I understood the original example to be
a winner on 12 (7+5)
then one player on 10 (8+2)
the next player is on 8 points total (0 stash)

so no tie breakers were necessary.

This is certainly a rare situation. But here is the full text that is in the rulebook (emphasis is mine):

"Once a player reaches 10 Glory Points (including the
secret points for stashed Gold – see “Stash”), he declares
so and the game ends after everyone has had their turn.

If several players reach 10 or more in the same turn, the
player with the most points on the Glory track on the
board (i.e. not counting points from their stash) wins
the game. If there is still a tie, the player with the largest
amount of stash wins. If this does not resolve the tie,
both players are declared winners."

So, the correct way to score it:

- Fist you see who managed to reach the 10 points (doesn't matter if you have more than 10), in this case you and opponent B.
- Second, you see who between you and opponent B has more points on the glory track, in this case, Opponent B.
- Third, you apply the criteria to players that didn't reach 10 points. In this case, Opponent A is third, as he only had 8 glory points total.

Thus, actually, we have:
1) Opponent B is the winner (10 glory points or more, 8 on the glory track, 2 points for his stash)
2) You are second (10 glory points or more, 7 on the glory track, 5 points for your stash)
3) Opponent A is third (8 glory points, all of them on the glory track, no points for his stash)

EDIT: Mostly grammar.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Fischer
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just look at the beginning of the rules. The moment somebody has 10 points incl stash, he declares endgame. After the game ends the one with the most points (incl stash) wins. If there is a tie, the player with most points without stash wins. So in your example the player with 12 pts wins. Question is, why he didn't announce his 10 pts, when he got them.

Extract from the rules:
Quote:
[[[Once a player reaches 10 Glory Points (including the secret points for stashed Gold – see “Stash”), he declares so and the game ends after everyone has had their turn. If several players reach 10 or more in the same turn, the player with the most points on the Glory track on the board (i.e. not counting points from their stash) wins the game. If there is still a tie, the player with the largest amount of stash wins. If this does not resolve the tie, both players are declared winners.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Fischer
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I think Rafael is right.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leon Stansfield
Austria
Vienna
European Union
flag msg tools
badge
live and die on one day
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Rafael is right.

I did not notice that one of the three players has less than ten victory points.

As I said before: The rule book is very clear in this regard blush
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, I don't know how I missed that (or forgotten it). shake I had it in my head that the player with the most Glory Points won.

But the rules quoted above show that, of those with 10 points or more, the player with the most on the track is the winner.

So even if one player has 8 points on the track and 50 gold stashed (total: 13 Glory Points) and another has 9 points on the track and 20 gold stashed (total: 11 points), it's the latter player who wins.

(This has all been stated above, but I'm saying it again out loud to get it set in my head.)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Answer: Pepsi
badge
Me Grimlock?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The two overall rules of thumb to remember are:

1) Points on the board are worth more than points that are stashed.
2) Stashed points beyond 10 only matter when the points on the board are tied.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graeme Edgeler
msg tools
horus83 wrote:
Question is, why he didn't announce his 10 pts, when he got them.

Because when he was on 6 glory points on the board, and 10 gold on hand, he launched an attack on a pirate opponent carrying 15 gold, killed the captain in crew combat, getting a glory point for the victory, took the 15 gold, and got 25 gold as a reward from his opponent's 5 Spanish bounties, and shot from 7 glory points to 12 glory points all in one action? arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Fischer
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
quadparty wrote:
horus83 wrote:
Question is, why he didn't announce his 10 pts, when he got them.

Because when he was on 6 glory points on the board, and 10 gold on hand, he launched an attack on a pirate opponent carrying 15 gold, killed the captain in crew combat, getting a glory point for the victory, took the 15 gold, and got 25 gold as a reward from his opponent's 5 Spanish bounties, and shot from 7 glory points to 12 glory points all in one action? arrrh
And happened to be in his homeport to stash his money right away arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graeme Edgeler
msg tools
horus83 wrote:
And happened to be in his homeport to stash his money right away arrrh

Would you believe it, but the glory card he picked up for winning the combat was "stash in any port"!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls