Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Blunderbuss and Rolling Ones rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Walker
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My friend and I have been debating what "rolling a one" actually means in game terms. The two arguments are as follows.

A - Favour of the Investigators
If you attack with the blunderbuss and roll say, a six, a three and a one, you can use an effect like Focus, Clue, Skids'"School of Hard knocks" or, most convicingly, the Derringer, to roll or modify that dice showing a one. If you do this, and roll say a five, have you still "rolled a one?". There are no ones on the table now. Do you have three successes or two?
What about in the case of the Derringer? You rolled a one, but then you add one with the item. You now have a "two." So did you "roll a one" or a "two?"

B - Against the Investigators (and most likely correct)
Roll means roll. The second that dice stops moving and shows a one, you rolled a one. Using Skids' ability, say you then roll six ones in a row. You have -6 successes with the Blunderbuss.

What do you think guys, is the Blunderbuss up for being tricked like that or as usual is it against the investigators?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lordocean wrote:
My friend and I have been debating what "rolling a one" actually means in game terms. The two arguments are as follows.

A - Favour of the Investigators
If you attack with the blunderbuss and roll say, a six, a three and a one, you can use an effect like Focus, Clue, Skids'"School of Hard knocks" or, most convicingly, the Derringer, to roll or modify that dice showing a one. If you do this, and roll say a five, have you still "rolled a one?". There are no ones on the table now. Do you have three successes or two?
What about in the case of the Derringer? You rolled a one, but then you add one with the item. You now have a "two." So did you "roll a one" or a "two?"

B - Against the Investigators (and most likely correct)
Roll means roll. The second that dice stops moving and shows a one, you rolled a one. Using Skids' ability, say you then roll six ones in a row. You have -6 successes with the Blunderbuss.

What do you think guys, is the Blunderbuss up for being tricked like that or as usual is it against the investigators?

It is "A" a roll is not considered complete until you have made all rerolls, so any ones rerolled never happened (unless they come up 1 again). Skids will never roll any 1s because he rerolls all of them. In the case of the deringer you have rolled 2 not 1.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer above is correct, but just in case you were worried that something being in favour of the investigators is out of character for the game, remember it's actually a downside too: if you need to roll 3 successes to kill a monster, and you only have 2 dice, you can't possibly do it, even if you have infinite re-rolls. A re-roll removes all record of the previous value of the roll (as does a Derringer-style adjustment).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It can also go the other way, you need one more success but did not get any ones, better be careful rerolling that 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Brasher
United Kingdom
Birmingham
flag msg tools
@C&CBrum
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are they Crawling Ones with out arms and legs who are a bit on the rotund side so roll about?

Probably look like...

goo

..or did you not mean to capitalise the post title
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse the Fourth
United States
Fitchburg
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skids O'Toole + Blunderbuss = Leet Hax.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls