Subject: newbie to BGG - heroScape alone worth it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
i am a newbie to BGG and to wargames, and was thinking of purchasing heroScape based on the excellent reviews on BGG. however, i was wondering if i only planned on purchasing the master set without any of its expansions or blister packs etc.., is it still worth to buy or not. any advice/ comments will be greatly appreciated. thanx

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunter Shelburne
United States
San Marcos
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Check out Weaponsgrade Tabletop on Youtube!
mbmbmbmbmb
As a wargame, no, its not that deep. As a light, fun fantasy game, its pretty fun on its own. I prefer it with expansions, but I'm a collecting kinda guy. I could have just played with a Master set.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Kelly
United States
Madison
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've never felt an overwhelming urge to own every single unit, and there are a ton of alternate setups (in addition to the ones in the book) here on BGG that use only the master set. A big positive of Heroscape is that they sell it at Wal-Mart, so sometimes a new group of samurais or something ends up in my weekly grocery purchase.

I'd say Heroscape is a great place to start. Just be sure to set it up before your opponent arrives.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Sekela
United States
Camp Lejeune
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is not a debatable issue - BUY IT!

Worst thing that can happen - you spend some dough on something that you don't like, and you get back some of your money buy selling it on ebay or giving it to a nephew or neighbor as a present...