17 Posts

Three Days of Gettysburg (third edition)» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Full Battle July 1, 0700 and 0800 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zack VandeKamp
msg tools
Hello Everyone,

I have played a few scenarios in this game and a few from Dead of Winter and decided it was time to dive into the monster scenario. I thought it might be fun to share some of the experience here. I'm no expert with the GBACW system and I'm sure I will make some mistakes along the way, but hopefully nothing that will impact the game too heavily.

While looking at the victory conditions, I saw there was several hexes that the CSA side would have to take if they win under the geographical. I thought it would be helpful to mark these just to get a visual of where these are on the map (seen below). I didn't leave these on the map during play, I just wanted to get an overall picture in my head where these were in relation to each other.

The initial set-up is shown here:

July 1, 0700
CSA has the initiative on the first turn and elects for Heth to go first. Heth advances Archer’s brigade and they take up position south of the road to make room for Davis to march up the road. Pegram starts the battle attached to Heth’s division, so he moves forward as well.

Buford draws the first chit from the cup. Gamble moves up the road and his two units that began the game dismounted move into a little valley to hide from the confederate artillery. Buford decides to call Devin’s brigade from the north of Gettysburg to support Gamble. Hopefully Reynolds can make it on time to stop the southern forces that will coming from the north later in the day.

The CSA March chit is drawn next. Davis’ brigade marches forward along the rode and pulls off the road as it gets closer to Gamble. Davis gets closer than a unit under march would normally be able to get, but Gamble men set-up in a little valley and don’t have LOS to Davis’ men.