Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror: Mountains of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ursula Downs Focus Skill rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Schott
Germany
Langenzenn
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi
I don't quite get what the second skill of Ursula Downs does.
"Once per round, you or another investigator on your space may spend 1 less Focus to pay for an effect."

so, what's an effect?
If that means, you have to spend one focus less, it is an instant free reroll (and not much else). Or anything else I do not see?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Seifert
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Many expansion components require you to spend focus for things (big example: Ithaqua). Ursula's ability can be used for that.

Otherwise it's just a free re-roll every round.
4 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schott
Germany
Langenzenn
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've yet to play against Itaqua, so I obviously missed that.
Thanks for the reply.

And another question: can the skill be used with no focus in your possession? (Just as a reroll.) Or do you have to own one focus (and then not spend it.)
I guess the former, but I don't know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pethulhu wrote:
I've yet to play against Itaqua, so I obviously missed that.
Thanks for the reply.

And another question: can the skill be used with no focus in your possession? (Just as a reroll.) Or do you have to own one focus (and then not spend it.)
I guess the former, but I don't know.

It can be used even if you have no focus.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathias Heilmann
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's also covered in the FAQ of the German Rulebook (that I assume you have).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schott
Germany
Langenzenn
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got the english one. But it may be there as well
Thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Cox
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the intent of the skill's text is that, if it were spelled out in a slightly less concise way, it would read 'Once per round, you or another investigator on your space may spend 1 less Focus to pay for an effect than you would otherwise pay'.

So, it applies when you would normally pay Focus - either to reroll in a skill test, or where directed by cards or board text.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls