Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: India Surrender and Unit Activations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Williams
msg tools
Hello.

Two separate questions here.

I've got the 2nd Edition and I'm confused about how India surrenders.
Event cards `can't move the marker beyond the India Revolts box and
cannot cause an Indian surrender' (according to 13.62), but the
preceding sentence says that India surrenders when the marker is
in the Revolts box. Is there a contradiction here?

Also, if the marker moves to the Revolts box in a National Status
segment, does India surrender in that same Segment? The rules state
that the marker has to be `in the India Revolts box', but when?
At the start of the National Status segment, or at any time during the
Segment?

Second question (or more like a clarification). During an offensive,
is it true that all activation paths are traced before any unit
moves, but supply for any particular unit that has been activated
is traced the instant it moves? In other words, if the activation
path to a unit is blocked by an enemy ZOC, one can't activate a
second (air or carrier) unit, move it to neutralise the ZOC, then
activate the first unit in the same offensive.

Thanks

Andrew W
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Dodds
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Andrew,

I'm still learning the game myself so a long way from an expert, but quietly confident I can help out here!

1. Your answers await you in this thread.

2. The golden rule with Offensive is always follow the steps in 7.2. As indicated in the rules the steps have to be followed in sequence. So the first step is Activation and the second step is Movement of activated units. Once you're in step 2 you can't go back to step 1. So your understanding is absolutely correct!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steidl
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
To clarify:

AndrewWilliams wrote:

During an offensive, is it true that all activation paths are traced before any unit moves...

This is correct

Quote:
but supply for any particular unit that has been activated
is traced the instant it moves?

This part is incorrect. Supplied status is a pre-requisite for activation, and is not checked again during the offensive.

Quote:
if the activation path to a unit is blocked by an enemy ZOC, one can't activate a second (air or carrier) unit, move it to neutralise the ZOC, then activate the first unit in the same offensive.

Correct

Cheers -
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Williams
msg tools
I'd tried searching for an `India Surrenders' thread but couldn't find
one. All is clear now.

Thanks for the answers.

AndrewW
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.