Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi There,

Just finished watching the second season of true detective. I watched because I loved season 1, I loved the characters, the story, the scenery, the dark spirit behind it all, etc etc.

For the second season, just the same, I absolutely loved it, I most of all enjoyed the characters in this series, it's no doubt about them and not so much about the plot. Only small hindrance was that the dialogue sometimes sounded a little over the top. It screams "David Lynch"!! And I absolutely loved that. (superlatives galore robot)

So needless to say, I was a little "shocked" (as far as that goes ) about all the negative ranting and criticism about this season.
Am I really the only one who loved this season?

Complaints about the difficulty of the plot, about the characters doing out of character things. (really?) etc etc...

Is this just some US vs rest of the world thing? A difference in excpectations about tv-series in general?

Maybe people cannot accept that sometimes, yes you're screwed and thing go bad and no, there's no good ending.

I know I'm a little peculiar in what I do and don't like in tv-series but wow.... didn't expect these kind of bad vibes about True Detective S2.

At some point, I even read a critic who stated that it would be a hard job for the producer / writer to get the "trust" back from the viewer. Is there such a thing I mused? Weird.

Me, I just watch a series and if it looks uninteresting to me or just plain whatever, I just stop watching and that's it. But trust? weird concept when it comes to viewing.

Watcha people think?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Eager
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
DBA Junkie
badge
"A Book should serve as the Ax for the frozen sea within us."-- KAFKA
mbmbmbmbmb