Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Samurai Spirit» Forums » Rules

Subject: when exactly Kai effect kicks in rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
While playing 2p variant Kikuchiyo + Katsushiro combination we ran into the following problem:

Both characters (already in the beast mode) sustained wounds earlier in the game and the next card to be played was the one with wound mark on it. It was passed from Kikuchiyo to Katsushiro and with that move he reached Kai value. The question we faced was:

Should Kai effect be triggered immediately after passing the card which would lead to adjusting battle track and whatever follows or should we first apply the battle penalty at Katsushiro's turn before making use of Kai effect. In that particular set up second wound would automatically end the game.

Thank You in advance for comments.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian van Someren
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you should trigger the Kiai effect immediately when it is reached, even if it is not your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Clinite
msg tools
mbmb
Indeed, having your Kiai activated when it's not your turn is one of the most important strategies of the game. It is also possible to use your Talent on bandit cards that are passed to you from Heihachi or Daisuke.

(though, how was Kikuchiyo able to pass it to Katsushiro? was it from a battle penalty?)

(EDIT-oh wait, right, 2-player variant)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Starek
Czech Republic
Sezimovo Usti
flag msg tools
badge
REALLY badass
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Christianv wrote:
I think you should trigger the Kiai effect immediately when it is reached, even if it is not your turn.


Yes, that's what the active-player-token is for, to not get lost in whose turn it is even though activating (a chain of) kiais.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.