Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Castaways» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resting & Campfire Confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacob Kuyvenhoven
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a little confused as to how/when these pertain, and reading the forums here on BGG has only made things foggier for me.

When I choose one of the resting action spots on the play board
-I gain the benefits of the shelter!
-Do I gain the benefits of the campfire?

At the end of the round, is there a FREE AUTOMATIC REST ACTION?
-I gain the benefits of the campfire!
-Do I gain the benefits of the shelter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Dropez
Spain
Barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
I would rather be here
badge
Auda will come to Aqaba because it is his pleasure...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
When I choose one of the resting action spots on the play board

-Do I gain the benefits of the campfire?

No, you only gain the benefits of the campfire at the end of the turn, in the survival phase


Quote:
At the end of the round, is there a FREE AUTOMATIC REST ACTION?
No

Quote:
At the end of the round(...) Do I gain the benefits of the shelter?
No, this is only when you do the rest action, not in the survival phase
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Kuyvenhoven
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have to disagree with your first remark, "RESTING" Definitely happens during the Action Resolution Phase! On page 7 of the rule book, there is a special side note that says "You will find 6 rest actions on the board, one after each main action. So, choose wisely the best time to have a rest."

This clearly indicates that you rest at that point, otherwise the timing wouldn't matter.
Also, Action Resolution comes before the SURVIVAL Phase, and the REST action states nothing about holding this action until the SURVIVAL Phase.

However, this Rest Only mentions ( Shelter ), nothing about the campfire.

During the Survival Phase, it mentions Resting AGAIN, however only talks about the Campfire and mentions nothing about shelter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier Dropez
Spain
Barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
I would rather be here
badge
Auda will come to Aqaba because it is his pleasure...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was answering your questions, not your first exclamative sentences. I have edited my post for clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lemmens Jitse
Belgium
Zoutleeuw
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played yesterday and house-ruled it since it's difficult enough already.

They should have distinguised the action spot resting by naming that 'resting' and the campfire end of round by 'sleeping'. It would make things easier to comprehend I think.

I do find it illogical that I don't benefit from the shelter while "sleeping" though so we ruled it that you could roll as if you are resting in the shelter. Even without the "only 1 regained energy during the night"-official rule it still makes it pretty hard to get the game finished.

At least for me/us.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls