Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Greentown» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leading a tour rules check rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Jackson
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules seem reasonably clear on leading a tour, but I wanted to check on some interpretations.

1. If you just have a Tour token left then you must play it? Even if most of the points might go to the other players - ie there is no pass action (seems clear but wanted to check).

2. There is an explicit mention of a situation where you can't reach the minimum of a type and take a penalty. Can you deliberately do this even if a complete route would be possible - eg to avoid paying an opponent 2 greenies by taking a minus 1 yourself?

3. As a corollary to 2, even if you had an alternative to choosing a Tour token for your turn can you still choose a Tour and run it incompletely? (not sure why you would want to do this particularly..) ie the selction of the token is independent of the actions that derive from it.

4. While one can fail to meet the minimum for a type and take a penalty there is no corresponding rule for exceeding a maximum. We took that to mean you could never exceed a maximum? (one of the players wanted to take a -1 cost for that type rather give 2 points to an opponent)

Thanks
Gary

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guenter Cornett
Germany
Berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Hi, thanks for request.

garyj wrote:
The rules seem reasonably clear on leading a tour, but I wanted to check on some interpretations.

1. If you just have a Tour token left then you must play it? Even if most of the points might go to the other players - ie there is no pass action (seems clear but wanted to check).

Yes, that's right.
I presume that there is always a possible way to go the demanded numbers of stations.

garyj wrote:

2. There is an explicit mention of a situation where you can't reach the minimum of a type and take a penalty. Can you deliberately do this even if a complete route would be possible - eg to avoid paying an opponent 2 greenies by taking a minus 1 yourself?


Yes, this can be a tactic, especially if you see yourself in the second range and you would give the leader more points. But this is very rare situation because you loose a oint if you don't reach the minimum.

garyj wrote:


3. As a corollary to 2, even if you had an alternative to choosing a Tour token for your turn can you still choose a Tour and run it incompletely? (not sure why you would want to do this particularly..) ie the selction of the token is independent of the actions that derive from it.

The number of stops at the top of the card is demanded. The player has no choice to make more or less steps.
But he is allowed to do a bad job, f.e miss all trees and get minus point for not fullfilling a wish. Maybe it's more lucrative for him to do so than to give points to his opponents.
garyj wrote:

4. While one can fail to meet the minimum for a type and take a penalty there is no corresponding rule for exceeding a maximum. We took that to mean you could never exceed a maximum? (one of the players wanted to take a -1 cost for that type rather give 2 points to an opponent)


The rule is about fullfilling or not fullfilling a wish. The wish includes minimum and maximum. Too much trees, shopping centres, culture or too much sport is as bad as too less. You can exceed the maximum but the consequence is the same as if you don't reach the minimum: instead of Greenies for visiting the site you loose one Greene for not fullfilling a wish.

I didn't thought that this rule could be understood in another way, but it seems that several players did. Sorry.

Günter


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Jackson
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks very much for the clarification, and for the quick reply!

Gary
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.