Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Churchill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Churchill scoring on colonies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Stock
msg tools
mbmbmb
Given that the basic math is one vp for a clandestine network, two for Churchill for an empty colony, three for a PA marker:

Does this mean that Churchill loses a VP for placing Clandestine operatives in a colony, even if that is to block his frenemies networks?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Norbert714 wrote:
Given that the basic math is one vp for a clandestine network, two for Churchill for an empty colony, three for a PA marker:

Does this mean that Churchill loses a VP for placing Clandestine operatives in a colony, even if that is to block his frenemies networks?


Yes, but a future play of an alignment marker is worth 3 VP.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Norbert714 wrote:
Given that the basic math is one vp for a clandestine network, two for Churchill for an empty colony, three for a PA marker:

Does this mean that Churchill loses a VP for placing Clandestine operatives in a colony, even if that is to block his frenemies networks?


In my (limited) experience, it's going to be difficult for the UK to score 2 pts for an empty colony - the US starts off with an advantage there (Training/Tournament Scenarios), and depending on how the Global issues play out the placement of Political Alignment markers are gong to be restricted.

If the US and UK battle for the colonies, this of course opens up more opportunities elsewhere for the Soviets. But something often needs to be done to block the UK early...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Stock
msg tools
mbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:
Norbert714 wrote:
Given that the basic math is one vp for a clandestine network, two for Churchill for an empty colony, three for a PA marker:

Does this mean that Churchill loses a VP for placing Clandestine operatives in a colony, even if that is to block his frenemies networks?


Yes, but a future play of an alignment marker is worth 3 VP.


Thanks Mark, great game!

Thanks Steve, good stuff.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Norbert714 wrote:
Given that the basic math is one vp for a clandestine network, two for Churchill for an empty colony, three for a PA marker:

Does this mean that Churchill loses a VP for placing Clandestine operatives in a colony, even if that is to block his frenemies networks?

Does this math take into account rule 9.4.B: 1 VP per country space... (colony is not listed)?

Seems like Churchill loses 2 VP if he places a clandestine marker in a blank colony space (and gains 2 if he clears all enemy markers from a space).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe there is a clarification, or another rule, that states that colonies are considered as countries for all purposes, including VPs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Federico Cesca
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Could someone find that rule or clarification? I've been wondering myself why 9.4 B was written that way.

9.4 A says "country or colony space"
9.4 B only says "country space" (and this could mean both countries and colonies)
9.4 F specifies "colony space" (which makes sense because it's a specific goal for Churchill)

It would appear that each entry is different. Is 9.4 B wrong then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
denis sauzedde
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You will find your answer in this following thread
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/19974440#19974440
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L Gravel
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:
Norbert714 wrote:
Given that the basic math is one vp for a clandestine network, two for Churchill for an empty colony, three for a PA marker:

Does this mean that Churchill loses a VP for placing Clandestine operatives in a colony, even if that is to block his frenemies networks?


Yes, but a future play of an alignment marker is worth 3 VP.


Mark, if you care to share it, what's the historical rationale for Churchill scoring clandestine=1/ empty=2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernie Roessler
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
Why were we not in the movie?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up in our last game and since the British were behind the Soviets by one point it cost the British the game. Is there any later errata changing the scoring on this or a rational for why it is this way?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.