Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Haldir Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sal Paradice
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Forgive me if this has been answered here. I found an older FFG thread, but I am still not clear.

Does Haldir's ability allow me to attack an enemy in the staging area before other attacks?

Example:
Engagement Phase (a lower threat goblin comes down)
Optional Engagement (I do not optionally engage the higher threat troll)
Combat Action (Haldir attacks the troll, still in the staging area)
Combat Action (goblin that engaged me attacks)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikos Pesmatzoglou
Greece
Agios Nikolaos - Anavyssos
Attiki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC , combat actions can be played before enemy attacks yes, I think I read something about it lately, if I find it I will post it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall
United States
Dalton
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If you are saying that the lower threat goblin has engaged you this turn, then Haldir cannot use his ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikos Pesmatzoglou
Greece
Agios Nikolaos - Anavyssos
Attiki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes forgot to mention, if an enemy engaged you this turn, Haldirs ability does not work
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DreadArkive wrote:
If you are saying that the lower threat goblin has engaged you this turn, then Haldir cannot use his ability.
This is correct.

Now, in a multiplayer game, if another player engages an enemy (and you did not engage any), you may attack that enemy (or one in the staging area) before any enemy attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ira Fay
United States
New Haven
CT
flag msg tools
designer
:-)
badge
Fay Games logo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that the troll still gets a shadow card, even if Haldir will destroy it with his attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
banana
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ira212 wrote:
Also note that the troll still gets a shadow card, even if Haldir will destroy it with his attack.

No. If the troll is in the staging area, he does not get a Shadow card, even if Haldir attacks it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls