Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek: Five-Year Mission» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lt. Uhura's Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Bass
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a few questions, all concerning Lt. Uhura's special ability.

1. Can she use her ability before rolling, and if she does so and takes a die from someone else, does she have the choice of whether or not to roll the die she took?

2. How does her ability work on the first turn of the game? Can she only take dice from other players who have already had a turn, so their dice have already been rolled?

3. Is her ability nullified during a communications failure, or can she simply take a die from someone in that circumstance without asking their permission?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave will probably come up behind me with a different response, but this is my take on it:

Tazzmann wrote:
I have a few questions, all concerning Lt. Uhura's special ability.

1. Can she use her ability before rolling, and if she does so and takes a die from someone else, does she have the choice of whether or not to roll the die she took?

No, you would take the die as it stands on that player's action die pool. Say someone keeps a blue 4 that isn't useful at that point and ends their turn. Uhura draws a card that needs the blue 4. She can then ask for the blue 4 and play it on the alert that requires it.

Tazzmann wrote:
2. How does her ability work on the first turn of the game? Can she only take dice from other players who have already had a turn, so their dice have already been rolled?

Exactly. While everyone has their starting dice, until they are rolled and either spent or held in their actions dice pool, those dice are not yet in play.

Tazzmann wrote:
3. Is her ability nullified during a communications failure, or can she simply take a die from someone in that circumstance without asking their permission?

Thanks!

She can give someone a die, but she cannot take one as the rules specifically state that you must ask permission to take a die from another player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Whitcher
United States
Manchester
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The question comes down to how you think of the dice. Dice that have been rolled on a previous turn are unused actions. Dice taken from the pool or ones that have not been rolled on the first turn are not yet actions and must be rolled. A player may use their ability any time on their turn after they have drawn an alert.

So Uhura may take a die from a player that has not played yet if they agree but she must do it prior to the rolling phase if she wishes to reroll it on that turn.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Hagen
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is very helpful thank you!
So summarizing about Action Dice and Lt Uhura:

Dice and Actions:
- Dice taken from the pool (or dice that have not been rolled on the first turn) are not yet Actions and MUST be rolled.
-At the end of your Place Dice phase, return any unused dice to your ACTIONS box. Keep the dice roll results as rolled. These dice are unused Actions.
-On your next Roll Dice phase, these (action) dice MAY be re-rolled (OR you can keep them and use them as they are)

-A player may use their ability any time on their turn after they have drawn an alert.

Lt. Uhura's special ability:
Uhura may take a Action die from a player if they agree but she must do it prior to the rolling phase IF she wishes to reroll it on that turn, OR she can use it as an Action as it is.
Example: Another crewman keeps a blue 4 that isn't useful at that point and ends their turn. Uhura draws a card that needs the blue 4. She can then ask for the blue 4 and play it on the alert that requires it.

During a communications failure, Lt Uhura can give someone a die, but she cannot take one as the rules specifically state that you must ask permission to take a die from another player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls