Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

DragonMage Warfare» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding example in rule book rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Bogucki
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In the example on page 10, why can't the yellow mage attack to his upper left?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrell Wood
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lbogucki wrote:
In the example on page 10, why can't the yellow mage attack to his upper left?


Good question. The land to the upper left is a tower and actually has not been acquired by any player. If the image was zoomed out a little it could be seen that nobody is currently controlling it. If it was controlled by an opponent the yellow player would have the option of being able to attack it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Bogucki
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Under what circumstance would there be a land which is not controlled by anyone?

Also, by moving into a land that is not occupied to you gain control of it? Does it matter if another player controls it or not and if another player does control it are there any consequences for that player?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrell Wood
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The towers do not start out as being controlled/occupied at all. Once a player becomes a master of an element (gain 4 xp) they immediately gain control of that towers element. Other than this it would never happen except with expansion lands. They of course have special rules lined out in their individual rule expansions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrell Wood
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lbogucki wrote:


Also, by moving into a land that is not occupied to you gain control of it? Does it matter if another player controls it or not and if another player does control it are there any consequences for that player?


If one of a players Mage' move into an enemy's land it initiates a battle or better defined as an attack in the rule book. Even if an opponent does not have a Mage to defend it still initiates an attack. A player can still defend their land but success is not as easy to achieve when defending without a Mage. It is possible though. Also, after a tower is controlled it can be attacked just like any land.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Bogucki
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tyrellrwood wrote:
The towers do not start out as being controlled/occupied at all. Once a player becomes a master of an element (gain 4 xp) they immediately gain control of that towers element. Other than this it would never happen except with expansion lands. They of course have special rules lined out in their individual rule expansions.

OK sorry, I knew this, my bad...I didn't read the word "tower" initially.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Bogucki
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tyrellrwood wrote:
lbogucki wrote:


Also, by moving into a land that is not occupied to you gain control of it? Does it matter if another player controls it or not and if another player does control it are there any consequences for that player?


If one of a players Mage' move into an enemy's land it initiates a battle or better defined as an attack in the rule book. Even if an opponent does not have a Mage to defend it still initiates an attack. A player can still defend their land but success is not as easy to achieve when defending without a Mage. It is possible though. Also, after a tower is controlled it can be attacked just like any land.

Sorry for the slew of questions.
It initiates a battle, but under the general non-expansion rules is there anyway that the unoccupied territory could be defended except for the Teleportation mage teleporting in?
Mages cannot cast spells or summon monsters into territories which they do not occupy correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrell Wood
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lbogucki wrote:
tyrellrwood wrote:
lbogucki wrote:


Also, by moving into a land that is not occupied to you gain control of it? Does it matter if another player controls it or not and if another player does control it are there any consequences for that player?


If one of a players Mage' move into an enemy's land it initiates a battle or better defined as an attack in the rule book. Even if an opponent does not have a Mage to defend it still initiates an attack. A player can still defend their land but success is not as easy to achieve when defending without a Mage. It is possible though. Also, after a tower is controlled it can be attacked just like any land.

Sorry for the slew of questions.
It initiates a battle, but under the general non-expansion rules is there anyway that the unoccupied territory could be defended except for the Teleportation mage teleporting in?
Mages cannot cast spells or summon monsters into territories which they do not occupy correct?

Ask away. I am glad you are enjoying the game. When defending a land without a Mage you are allowed to play a creature or spell and then another spell. If you defend the land successfully the creature and spell are placed in your discard pile at the end of the battle. This can be a hard win but I is possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Bogucki
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tyrellrwood wrote:
lbogucki wrote:
tyrellrwood wrote:
lbogucki wrote:


Also, by moving into a land that is not occupied to you gain control of it? Does it matter if another player controls it or not and if another player does control it are there any consequences for that player?


If one of a players Mage' move into an enemy's land it initiates a battle or better defined as an attack in the rule book. Even if an opponent does not have a Mage to defend it still initiates an attack. A player can still defend their land but success is not as easy to achieve when defending without a Mage. It is possible though. Also, after a tower is controlled it can be attacked just like any land.

Sorry for the slew of questions.
It initiates a battle, but under the general non-expansion rules is there anyway that the unoccupied territory could be defended except for the Teleportation mage teleporting in?
Mages cannot cast spells or summon monsters into territories which they do not occupy correct?

Ask away. I am glad you are enjoying the game. When defending a land without a Mage you are allowed to play a creature or spell and then another spell. If you defend the land successfully the creature and spell are placed in your discard pile at the end of the battle. This can be a hard win but I is possible.

You mentioned in the above scenario that if you defend successfully they are placed in your discard pile. Is this true even if they have a heart symbol on them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrell Wood
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lbogucki wrote:
tyrellrwood wrote:
lbogucki wrote:
tyrellrwood wrote:
lbogucki wrote:


Also, by moving into a land that is not occupied to you gain control of it? Does it matter if another player controls it or not and if another player does control it are there any consequences for that player?


If one of a players Mage' move into an enemy's land it initiates a battle or better defined as an attack in the rule book. Even if an opponent does not have a Mage to defend it still initiates an attack. A player can still defend their land but success is not as easy to achieve when defending without a Mage. It is possible though. Also, after a tower is controlled it can be attacked just like any land.

Sorry for the slew of questions.
It initiates a battle, but under the general non-expansion rules is there anyway that the unoccupied territory could be defended except for the Teleportation mage teleporting in?
Mages cannot cast spells or summon monsters into territories which they do not occupy correct?

Ask away. I am glad you are enjoying the game. When defending a land without a Mage you are allowed to play a creature or spell and then another spell. If you defend the land successfully the creature and spell are placed in your discard pile at the end of the battle. This can be a hard win but I is possible.

You mentioned in the above scenario that if you defend successfully they are placed in your discard pile. Is this true even if they have a heart symbol on them?

The reason they are placed in your discard pile is because they do not have a leader (Mage) in play to lead them. Essentially what the intention here is without a Mage to keep them in play they return to the realm from which they were summoned. If a Mage is controlling them they cannot be discarded until some action occurs which forces them to be discarded such as taking damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls