Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lewis & Clark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mandatory Actions .. not possible rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Underwood
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What do you do if you have no Indians and only one card unplayed? If you must perform a Mandatory Action before you undertake an Optional Action are you dead in the water? You can't even make camp since this is an Optional Action. Am I missing something?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. You HAVE to camp to get your cards back. If you didn't plan for this, oh well...


Edit: turn is free flowing, you are not forced to do the mandatory action first
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Seifert
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lkujju wrote:
What do you do if you have no Indians and only one card unplayed? If you must perform a Mandatory Action before you undertake an Optional Action are you dead in the water? You can't even make camp since this is an Optional Action. Am I missing something?


You can do optional actions before or after your turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Bolyard
United States
Oak Grove
Missouri
flag msg tools
But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
badge
In your world, I have another name. You must learn to know me by it. That was the very reason why you were brought to Narnia, that by knowing me here for a little, you may know me better there.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's easy to overlook the turn structure in the rules:
Quote:
Game Turn
On your turn, you must perform an Action.
In addition to this compulsory Action, you can set up Camp.
You can also Recruit a new Character.
Those two phases are optional: each of them can be done any time during the player’s
turn, before or after the compulsory Action
, but never simultaneously.

Which means your turn can go one of several ways:
1. Compulsory action only
2. Compulsory action, then recruit
3. Compulsory action, then recruit, then camp (unlikely to do this)
4. Compulsory action, then camp
5. Compulsory action, then camp, then recruit
6. Recruit, then compulsory action
7. Recruit, then compulsory action, then camp
8. Recruit, then camp, then compulsory action (unlikely to do this)
9. Camp, then compulsory action
10. Camp, then compulsory action, then recruit
11. Camp, then recruit, then compulsory action

Setting up camp at first feels like you're "wrapping up" your turn, and this is typically the case. However, as demonstrated above, it's not necessarily so.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.