Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Great War at Sea: The Mediterranean» Forums » Rules

Subject: missions - plotting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Menyhert
Netherlands
flag msg tools
For most missions you must plot all turns in advance (except raid- and intercept missions, that's 2 turns in advance).
Does this mean that in a 36 turn scenario, you have to plot all 36 turns in advance? OR that you must plot only the turns in which you complete your mission?

For example: One fleet is on a minelaying mission, you plot the turns till you have laid all minefields. Suppose after 16 turns this fleet has completed it's mission. Then what? How do you deal with this?



4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rupert Cullum
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You plot the mission (excluding those with raid and intercept missions) from start of the mission through to the fleet's return to friendly port. Once a fleet has been in port for 6 turns you are free to assign it a new mission.

For long games, fleets could have multiple minelaying / bombardment / etc. missions, each plotted from start of mission to return to friendly port separately.

For your game, a fleet could have a minelaying mission starting on turn 1 and plotted through to its return to port on turn 20. After 6 turns in port, you could assign it a new mission and then plot it starting on turn 27.

Hope that helps.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Menzies
Australia
Katoomba
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is a bit astonishing that someone who isn't a huge fan of the system should be giving advice but in the situation above can you not replace your original plot with ABORT, returning to port early & thence able to re-plot?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rupert Cullum
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can. I was running through a scenario where you complete the mission, return to port as plotted and then can get a new mission assigned after 6 turns.

If you are part way through the mission, you can abort and re-plot back to port and then get reassigned after 6 turns.

Good clarification - thanks for pointing it out !
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.