Hector Flores
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a 3 player game recently where I introduced the game to a few friends. We had a good time, but I got several things wrong. I present these here for you to learn from (or scoff), or to help me correct something I still don't understand.

- You can only move each unit once per action marker:

(7.2.2) A unit cannot move more than once in a single Action
Segment. Thus, a unit that moves as part of a Major Move cannot
move again with a Minor Move in the same Action Segment.
The unit could, however, engage in construction.

- Arzawa setup (I forgot to do it as I didn't see any information on it in the Playbook scenario #3)

(10.1.1) The Arzawa Home Kingdom Cities are
Apasa, Milawata, Wallarima, Mira, Hindawa, and
Hapalla, as indicated on the map. At the start of the
game, 3 Infantry units are placed in Apasa, and 2 Infantry units
in Milawata unless directed otherwise in the scenario setup instructions

- A player cannot voluntarily retreat if he used the city in defense:

(8.4.1) Voluntary Retreats. If the Defender loses the Battle, the
player has the option to retreat his force one or two spaces. There
are no retreats by Sea. The Defender cannot Voluntarily Retreat
(or be forced to) if he used a City in the defense.

Note the attacker also cannot force the defender to retreat if he used a city in defense. (8.4.2)

- If any defending units are still in the space after the battle, then the attacker MUST regroup. If there are no units left but the Fortified city remains then the attacker stays in the space and must then spend 1 MP to attack again (and if he doesn't have the MP, he must regroup:

Step 7: If Defender combat units still occupy the Battle Space, the
Attacker must Regroup (8.4.7). Otherwise, the Attacker remains
in the space. If the space is an Unfortified City, the Attacker
captures it (8.5.1). If the space is a Fortified City, the Attacker
must either attack the city (go to Step 1 after taking Slaves and/
or Seizing Treasury) or Regroup. However, if this was an interception,
the Attacker must Regroup instead

- Forgot the rule about seizing treasury:

5.4 Seizing Treasury
Kings of the era usually traveled with a great deal of their treasury
immediately at hand. If a player wins a Battle against another
player’s King, he rolls 1d6 and takes that number multiplied by
10 as a percentage (%) of the losing player’s Treasury, rounded
up. Minor Kingdom and Barbarian Kings have no Treasury, and
provide no $ when defeated in battle. Kings who lose battles
against Minor Kingdoms or Barbarians do not lose any $.

- Cities under revolt suffer isolation losses

- Sea peoples (which have no capital city) always suffer isolation losses
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timothy Phelps
United States
Canal Fulton
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
galvornman wrote:
- Arzawa setup (I forgot to do it as I didn't see any information on it in the Playbook scenario #3)

I'm pretty sure Elam should be set up initially for Scenario #3 as well, since it says to use the same setup as Scenario #2. It's basically the same as Scenario #2 except you only play the first 4 turns.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hector Flores
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I remember the scenario description saying to leave Elam out - but I didn't put 2 and 2 together at the time to remember to setup Arzawa.

Asyncritus wrote:
galvornman wrote:
- Arzawa setup (I forgot to do it as I didn't see any information on it in the Playbook scenario #3)

I'm pretty sure Elam should be set up initially for Scenario #3 as well, since it says to use the same setup as Scenario #2. It's basically the same as Scenario #2 except you only play the first 4 turns.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timothy Phelps
United States
Canal Fulton
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh right, for 3 players you do leave Elam out.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls