Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Barony» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple quick rules... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Royal
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just got this in the mail, reading the rules, and wanted to ask a couple questions to experts who've played it already.

1.) If a player has two knights in a space, there really isn't a way for the other player to ever enter that space, correct? Because if they had one knight in the space it would have been removed when the second knight of the opponent was placed, and if they have no knights there, they can't move a knight in. Or can they?

2.) Same with a village and knight. Can you enter a space with an enemy village/knight? I'm guessing no.

3.) Generally, you'd never want to have more than two of your units together in a space, right? You could have more in a single space if you wanted, but what would be the point?

Thanks for insight!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Auzette wrote:
Just got this in the mail, reading the rules, and wanted to ask a couple questions to experts who've played it already.

1.) If a player has two knights in a space, there really isn't a way for the other player to ever enter that space, correct? Because if they had one knight in the space it would have been removed when the second knight of the opponent was placed, and if they have no knights there, they can't move a knight in. Or can they?

That's correct. Two of a player's pieces block the space. You just have to be patient and wait until one of the knights moves, which will happen eventually because you only have seven knights.

Auzette wrote:
2.) Same with a village and knight. Can you enter a space with an enemy village/knight? I'm guessing no.

No, same answer. A knight can protect a village, but that means it is stuck there.

Auzette wrote:
3.) Generally, you'd never want to have more than two of your units together in a space, right? You could have more in a single space if you wanted, but what would be the point?

Thanks for insight!

It happens everytime you use the 1st action and recruit new knights. And it can happen momentarily as you spread your knights on the board, but it is very rare.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Royal
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for taking the time to answer the questions!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Lynch
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So on each player reference card between move 2 and move 3, there is an example of a space populated by 1 friendly village, 3 friendly knights, and 2 enemy knights, with an arrow to remove the 2 enemy knights.

How could such a situation arise? Seems to violate all movement and coexistence rules.

Also, why do the player reference cards use numbers 1->6 for moves,
and the rules use letters A->F ? Seems silly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Royal
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
So on each player reference card between move 2 and move 3, there is an example of a space populated by 1 friendly village, 3 friendly knights, and 2 enemy knights, with an arrow to remove the 2 enemy knights.

That's a good point. I thought of about three situations that might have caused this, but then found all of them would break rules of coexistence.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
donlyn wrote:
So on each player reference card between move 2 and move 3, there is an example of a space populated by 1 friendly village, 3 friendly knights, and 2 enemy knights, with an arrow to remove the 2 enemy knights.

How could such a situation arise? Seems to violate all movement and coexistence rules.

That's two separate situations that can occur.

1. 2 friendly knight against one enemy knight -> the enemy knight is removed
2. 1 friendly knight and one friendly village against one enemy knight -> the enemy knight is removed
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Lynch
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I viewed that first part as all one example, 4 friendlies versus 2 enemies. Makes sense as two separate examples. Would have been obvious if the play-aid used a bit more space to the left and right on that line and delineated either three in a row horizontally to go on same line with the 2 knights/village example, or somehow delineated those two horizontally. Looks like one other poster had the same mis-interpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls