Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Next War: Korea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ignoring retreat when surrounded rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon G
United States
Bossier City
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A unit in a fort hex suffers a 1R and, after taking a step loss, attempts to ignore the retreat. If it subsequently fails the attempt and all retreat paths are blocked what happens?



Para 9.8.4, Voluntarily Ignoring Retreat Results, says "If the unit fails (the voluntary retreat roll), the unit/stack may either retreat as normal or lose an additional step and remain in place"

Para 9.8.3 says "If a unit... cannot retreat because of .. the presence of enemy units, it must remain in its original defending hex. The unit must take an ER check; if it fails it takes an additional step loss"

It seems there are two outcomes possible.

Option A: The unit will take two ER checks. One for the ignoring retreat and one for the failure to retreat. That is;

1- unit rolls and fails the voluntarily retreat roll
2- therefore must retreat as normal..
3- but cannot retreat because of presence of enemy units
4- therefore takes another ER check.

Or Option B: The unit takes one ER check for ignoring retreat. If it fails it is eliminated. That is;

1- unit rolls and fails voluntary retreat roll
2- since can't retreat as normal, must remain in place and lose an additional step
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because you rolled to not retreat and failed, you'd be forced to lose a step to remain in place (because you can't retreat as normal).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls