Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Yashima: Legend of the Kami Masters» Forums » Rules

Subject: Kenta´s Steel buckler and sashimono rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ondrej Kocnar
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They both make the master Focus, but how does it interact with
the Rejuvenating and Relic terrain?

Do you get healing and ability to turn tome pages respectively when being
on or adjacent to the respective terrains and using these items.

RAW it looks that healing should not work: "if a master uses their tome action to FOCUS, while...". But none of the items uses a tome action to Focus.

On the other hand turning-pages effect should trigger, because rules state
"when you FOCUS adjacent to this terrain, you may...".
It is page 9 in the rulebook.

So Kenta could for example sabotage your tome while mitigating your attack with a buckler or prepare his tome for his next tome action.
Poor Rosamu and his chaining - he would be sadly looking on the cover of his book a lot...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Sprung
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
okocnar wrote:
They both make the master Focus, but how does it interact with
the Rejuvenating and Relic terrain?

Do you get healing and ability to turn tome pages respectively when being
on or adjacent to the respective terrains and using these items.

RAW it looks that healing should not work: "if a master uses their tome action to FOCUS, while...". But none of the items uses a tome action to Focus.

On the other hand turning-pages effect should trigger, because rules state
"when you FOCUS adjacent to this terrain, you may...".
It is page 9 in the rulebook.

So Kenta could for example sabotage your tome while mitigating your attack with a buckler or prepare his tome for his next tome action.
Poor Rosamu and his chaining - he would be sadly looking on the cover of his book a lot...
Thanks for the questions!We had some other folks ask about FOCUS too.

Tony and I have decided to make this more clear in the rules moving forward. But to make a long story, short, we're going with the "If a master uses their tome action to FOCUS." for terrain that deals with FOCUS. The thematic idea is that your master is concentrating on their energy (gaining karma) and deciding what their next move (turning their book) or counter is (turning opponent’s book).

So any FOCUS outside of a FOCUS Tome Action will NOT cause any terrain effects to trigger. The only way to activate terrain effects is if you spend your tome action focusing.

We feel this will prevent spamming, as you described, and make the FOCUS Tome Action have a more deliberate action/bonus relationship.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ondrej Kocnar
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for a quick answer.

To be precise does it cover only the particula "FOCUS" tome action
or also the tome actions that pay karma (like the one that Hikaru has)?

I.e. can Hikaru adjacent to a relic terrain use her master ability to focus, heal and turn pages of her tome as one action?

In each case the rules should get errata (and later reprint perhaps), because they now RAI say something that is different than you state (even if it is not a big deal).

BTW is there effective way how to use Sashimono? It seems extremely situational at best. Also can you decide to destroy your own equipment
or you are stuck with it forever?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Bailey
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great question. This came up for me tonight, as Kenta was next to a rejuvenation hex and each time he was hit he was healing as well... I didn't think that seemed right. It would make Kenta a little too powerful that way.



Related question - if you focus inbetween TWO rejuv hexes, adjacent to both, will a focus action heal you twice?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Sprung
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice questions, guys.

The only way to activate terrain effects is if you choose to FOCUS for your tome action.

Any focusing caused in any other way will not trigger terrain effects, even if you focus as a part of performing a tome's effect.

So to answer
okocnar wrote:
"Can Hikaru adjacent to a relic terrain use her master ability to focus, heal and turn pages of her tome as one action?"
She would focus and heal, but not trigger the relic terrain and be able to turn any pages.

And to answer
Crabbok wrote:
"If you focus in-between TWO rejuv hexes, adjacent to both, will a focus action heal you twice?"
You must be standing ON healing terrain to HEAL, so this can never happen. You don't activate this terrain effect by being adjacent, it's different than relic terrain.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Sprung
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
okocnar wrote:
BTW is there effective way how to use Sashimono? It seems extremely situational at best. Also can you decide to destroy your own equipment
or you are stuck with it forever?
Generally I only use it just before making a big attack, in an attempt to get it even higher, definitely a glass cannon strategy. This also becomes much more effective after restoration, as you don't care as much about life.

Once equipped, it can't be removed unless an effect would have it removed. The only way to remove equipment outside of an effect is during restoration, where you have the opportunity to destroy any equipment on you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ondrej Kocnar
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sprode wrote:
Nice questions, guys.:D

The only way to activate terrain effects is if you choose to FOCUS for your tome action.

Any focusing caused in any other way will not trigger terrain effects, even if you focus as a part of performing a tome's effect.

So to answer
okocnar wrote:
"Can Hikaru adjacent to a relic terrain use her master ability to focus, heal and turn pages of her tome as one action?"
She would focus and heal, but not trigger the relic terrain and be able to turn any pages.


In this thread Tony Gullotti says that you can double-heal with Hikaru using her master ability and rejuvenating terrain: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1414570/yashima-first-4-pla...

Is not there a contradiction in those rulings? Can Hikaru heal twice this way?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Gullotti
United States
Fort Wayne
IN
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
okocnar wrote:

In this thread Tony Gullotti says that you can double-heal with Hikaru using her master ability and rejuvenating terrain: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1414570/yashima-first-4-pla...

Is not there a contradiction in those rulings? Can Hikaru heal twice this way?

This is something Josh & I have been discussing for some time and we've decided upon the following. Shortly this will be added to the errata found here: http://greenbriergames.com/yashima_rulebook

1.) If a terrain effect specifies that it occurs when you FOCUS, you must use your tome action to FOCUS. If you use your tome action to perform a KARMA ABILITY (even if it in turn causes a FOCUS), the terrain effect will not be triggered.

2.) Relic terrain will have the following updated wording (change in bold):

Quote:
Relic terrain is solid terrain, with one additional rule - if a master uses their tome action to FOCUS while adjacent to this terrain, they may turn any master's tome up to two pages.

Please note that wording may vary slightly, we are currently working on rules errata, an extended rulebook that is included in one of the expansions as well as a FAQ.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ondrej Kocnar
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks,
so Hikaru is "nerfed" and will not get any additional bonuses from rejuvenating terrain?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Sprung
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
okocnar wrote:
Thanks,
so Hikaru is "nerfed" and will not get any additional bonuses from rejuvenating terrain?
Correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ondrej Kocnar
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

One more question about Steel Buckler. It does not help you against Swift attacks. Is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ondrej Kocnar
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LoreChase wrote:
okocnar wrote:

In this thread Tony Gullotti says that you can double-heal with Hikaru using her master ability and rejuvenating terrain: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1414570/yashima-first-4-pla...

Is not there a contradiction in those rulings? Can Hikaru heal twice this way?

This is something Josh & I have been discussing for some time and we've decided upon the following. Shortly this will be added to the errata found here: http://greenbriergames.com/yashima_rulebook

1.) If a terrain effect specifies that it occurs when you FOCUS, you must use your tome action to FOCUS. If you use your tome action to perform a KARMA ABILITY (even if it in turn causes a FOCUS), the terrain effect will not be triggered.

2.) Relic terrain will have the following updated wording (change in bold):

Quote:
Relic terrain is solid terrain, with one additional rule - if a master uses their tome action to FOCUS while adjacent to this terrain, they may turn any master's tome up to two pages.

Please note that wording may vary slightly, we are currently working on rules errata, an extended rulebook that is included in one of the expansions as well as a FAQ.


"Glossary" at the end of the rulebook also has it described erroneously/confusingly. See FOCUS.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Sprung
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
okocnar wrote:
Thanks.

One more question about Steel Buckler. It does not help you against Swift attacks. Is this correct?
It DOES help since you aren't "responding". This ability instead "triggers" when you are being dealt damage from any attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Sprung
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
okocnar wrote:
LoreChase wrote:
okocnar wrote:

In this thread Tony Gullotti says that you can double-heal with Hikaru using her master ability and rejuvenating terrain: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1414570/yashima-first-4-pla...

Is not there a contradiction in those rulings? Can Hikaru heal twice this way?

This is something Josh & I have been discussing for some time and we've decided upon the following. Shortly this will be added to the errata found here: http://greenbriergames.com/yashima_rulebook

1.) If a terrain effect specifies that it occurs when you FOCUS, you must use your tome action to FOCUS. If you use your tome action to perform a KARMA ABILITY (even if it in turn causes a FOCUS), the terrain effect will not be triggered.

2.) Relic terrain will have the following updated wording (change in bold):

Quote:
Relic terrain is solid terrain, with one additional rule - if a master uses their tome action to FOCUS while adjacent to this terrain, they may turn any master's tome up to two pages.

Please note that wording may vary slightly, we are currently working on rules errata, an extended rulebook that is included in one of the expansions as well as a FAQ.


"Glossary" at the end of the rulebook also has it described erroneously/confusingly. See FOCUS.
Correct. We need intend to fix this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reading up on the rules in preparation for tomorrow's first play(s) of Yashima, anybody have some insight as to why Relic terrain when using Focus lets you turn the pages from ANY master's tome? From a gameplay POV, it certainly adds quite a nice interaction element, but what's the thematic take? Flipping your own tome, sure, but anyone's, that seems slightly strange.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julie Ahern

Massachusetts
msg tools
publisher
Dam the Man wrote:
Reading up on the rules in preparation for tomorrow's first play(s) of Yashima, anybody have some insight as to why Relic terrain when using Focus lets you turn the pages from ANY master's tome? From a gameplay POV, it certainly adds quite a nice interaction element, but what's the thematic take? Flipping your own tome, sure, but anyone's, that seems slightly strange.

So in the world of Kami all things have spirits protectors, even non-living things... if they have been around long enough. A relic may not be as powerful as one of it's Kami brethren, but it can still wander over to the opposing master, and turn a few pages for you when summoned in close proximity.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls