Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Frontier Stations» Forums » Rules

Subject: Activation of special powers of systems rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Purple TripleCrown
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are the special powers of the system cards that are in play "always on", or are they only active when the card is activated by the die/dice roll?

The conversion play example suggests that they would always be on, but I can't find where the question is dealt with explicitly by the rules.

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each effect box on the system card has its own activation rules. For example, the Fabricator has one effect box that activates if you roll a 4, and a separate effect box that activates if you roll a 10.

If an effect box doesn't have any activation numbers, then it just does whatever it says. For example, the Salvage Ship is used when a player installs or upgrades a system without spending energy, so the die roll doesn't (directly) matter.

The "special" effect on cards like Recycler or the Rescue Pod is "always on".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Purple TripleCrown
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Antistone wrote:
The "special" effect on cards like Recycler or the Rescue Pod is "always on".

So I assume that means that the "transfer" abilities can be used at any time?

... and one other question! With the "power crystal," which allows you to spend its energy tokens for other players -- can those energy tokens be used by the other player for conversion purposes?

Fantastic game, by the way. Initially, the simplicity of the rulebook makes it look like it'll just turn into a grind as the game continues. But both the "late threat" turn and the increased number of threats actually creates different problems (as opposed to just more of them) and even different opportunities. Your old systems don't necessarily just become obsolete; they can often contribute in a different way, what with the new conversion abilities you'll get, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wretched Git wrote:
So I assume that means that the "transfer" abilities can be used at any time?
Depends what you mean by "transfer". The cards that let you spend one resource as another (e.g. Recycler) can do that at any time. The cards that let you move resources to another card (e.g. Trading Post) only do so when activated.

The general rule is: does the ability box have activation numbers printed in the corner? If so, it happens when those numbers are rolled. If not, it's a passive.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls