Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Having trouble with C.4 and Case K rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Williams
United States
Oceanside
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
C.4 is the paragraph about ORDNANCE AREA FIRE. It says OAF "never halves the FP effects of any hit. Instead any shot affected by provision of Area Fire caused by the target's status uses Case K..."

OK, so I understand it's saying you use K only if the Area Fire is caused by something like the target being concealed, but when the hit is resolved you don't half it.

Now take a mortar which always uses Area Fire. So am I right that if you're shooting at, let's say, infantry in a building or out in the open you don't use Case K, but you still half the FP on the IFT? Now if that unit is under a Concealment counter you'd use Case K and half the FP on the IFT?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Roundhill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
Correct. The key is Area Target Type is different from Area Fire.

Any fire using Area Target Type, which mortars must do, will have its FP halved. Firing against a Concealed unit forces Area Fire, which in this case applies Case K.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The original wording could have been better chosen. There are other similar words.
You'll get used to it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Stewart
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
It's sooo Hot out here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RIGHT, Area Target Type subjects the attack to AREA fire.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.