Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

D-Day at Tarawa» Forums » Rules

Subject: Always treat Japanese Tanks as a seperate position group? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Stevenson
United States
Columbus
Ga
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If a position group contains both Japanese Tank and non Tank units I believe they're treated as separate position for all Japanese actions. Example as two one step positions rather than as single position containing two steps or determine eligibility to act. Or am I wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a great question. I've been wondering the EXACT same thing because in my current game I have a tank + armor depth in a position group with a coastal unit + coastal depth (so 4 total units).

When taking a basic fire action, I've treated the entire position group as if it had a tank since the rules treat an entire position group as one contiguous position, and fired at 1 extra hex distance. If no U.S. unit is in range, I've conducted an advance for the tank as described in the rules, and advanced the tank out if needed (thereby splitting the group).

If a lettered action comes up, though, the situation is more confusing. You could end up with different actions for different halves of the position group; do we split the group up at that point? What happens if the group draws an Assault action? Who assaults? The tank or the non-armored units?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Stevenson
United States
Columbus
Ga
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly my problem!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Stevenson
United States
Columbus
Ga
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Given that tanks have a extended FOF (13.1) I think they must be treated as separate position for all actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Windsor
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tas1624 wrote:
Given that tanks have a extended FOF (13.1) I think they must be treated as separate position for all actions.

You are correct.

Even though generally fire actions are by group, tanks are activated independently.

From the designer:

Tank units always perform tank actions, even if in a position group with other units.

Other units will do their own fire action separately.

From this thread.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That helps a LOT. Thanks! And it makes tanks even MORE deadly, too. I've only killed one in my 10 games. I usually run away from them until they finally catch me and take care of business.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls