Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Rum & Bones» Forums » Rules

Subject: Copied attacks - Marie Sue & The Slasher rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Rademacher
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Marie Sue's attack "Jack of All Trades" states: "Marie copies any 0 Attack on a Deployed Hero." The Slasher has a very similar ability "Multi Talented" which states: "The Slasher copies any Attack on a Deployed enemy Hero, paying all cost of that Attack."
Does this mean Marie's and Slasher's attacks are the same as a previous attack that turn? Does their attack have to be on the same enemy Hero? If so, what if they are not in range of that same enemy Hero? Is the attack rolled again, or does the copied attack include the original result? I assume at the very least, they should not attack first in their turn, as there won't be any attacks to copy yet.
Or am I completely misunderstanding this?
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are misunderstanding. "Attack" in this context does not mean an attack someone made. It means an Attack ability. In other words, you can do an ability from another Hero's sheet as if it were your own.

Whether they've used it is irrelevant. You are copying the ability off the sheet, not an action they've taken.

For example, Marie Sue can look at the Hero sheets of all other Heroes currently Deployed (in play), on her team and the other team, and then use any one of their Attacks that costs 0 as if it were hers.

Same for Slasher, but not limited by cost and he pays the cost.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas DeWolf
United States
macomb
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The other differentiator being the Slasher can only copy enemies, where Marie Sue can copy any hero...right?

Nick
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hirsch
United States
Holliston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Slasher can copy any enemy attack, regardless of cost.

Marie Sue can copy any 0-cost attack, friendly or enemy.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Rademacher
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. This all makes sense now.

Could Marie copy The Slasher's attack, and therefore copy an enemy's attack and pay the cost? Or could The Slasher copy Marie's attack and then copy a friendly Hero's no-cost attack?

1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hirsch
United States
Holliston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
juano9 wrote:
Thanks. This all makes sense now.

Could Marie copy The Slasher's attack, and therefore copy an enemy's attack and pay the cost? Or could The Slasher copy Marie's attack and then copy a friendly Hero's no-cost attack?


It looks like that would work (they are both attack abilities).

One question I'd raise, though: What happens when an ability is copied that refers to a character name?

For example, Lars' basic attack ability is "All enemy Heroes within 2 Zones suffer SILENCE if Lars has 10 or more Damage."

So, if the ability is copied, does the effect trigger based on Lars' damage or the copier's damage?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mongrel wrote:
For example, Lars' basic attack ability is "All enemy Heroes within 2 Zones suffer SILENCE if Lars has 10 or more Damage."

So, if the ability is copied, does the effect trigger based on Lars' damage or the copier's damage?
I would assume it uses damage on the Hero attacking unless we get some FAQ or Errata or official comment saying otherwise.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Migs
United States
VA
flag msg tools
mbmb
How exactly does this work with characters that have their own name in their attacks?

Take Nemo for example, his 0 cost attack is: "For each 6 rolled, Nemo gets 1 coin"

If this was copied, does Nemo get the coin or does person that copied the ability get the coin?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Shinall
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In these situations you should substitute the copied Hero's name with Marie/The Slasher.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Migs
United States
VA
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for the reply Michael =)


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls