United States
Hamilton Square
NJ
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.shootagaingames.com
mbmbmbmbmb
One mistake I admit I've made with previous games is asking my illustrators to do everything including the graphic design. Recently, during a game of Looting Atlantis with several designers the feedback they gave me afterwards opened my eyes. They all loved the game, but also said that the layout and logo were a discredit to it. Not being an artist myself, I never appreciated how much a graphic designer could add or how much I was asking of my illustrator. Not knowing better I assumed if someone could do one they could automatically do the other. I know some people can do both, but not everyone can, so it is something I will always consider after this experience.

Before

After

In addition, the new logo he created and the amazing job he did on the rule book has me hooked. Lesson learned!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Heineman
United States
LaCrosse
WI
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the artwork, but I'm honestly not a fan of either of these designs. The top one: purple doesn't work, and the textbox at the bottom doesn't work because of contrasting colors and legibility.

The bottom one:

I'm not a fan of the title font, but that's personal taste. I'd rather see the title floating up higher to "center" it vertically in the dark space.

Why the big dark border? Also, the plain blue rectangle on that textured dark background looks strange . . . like it's floating above it. A decorative border of some sort to make the transition from that dark background to the blue/interior of the card would do wonders. And I'd rather see the artwork larger. . . . the blue rectangle on top detracts from the art. Is it really necessary?

The bottom text box: needs inset spacing badly. Text shouldn't push up to the bounding box of the text field.