Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mare Nostrum» Forums » General

Subject: Is this legal? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Raabe
United States
Green Bay
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hypothetical situation: Player A has it out for Player B. Player A moves the bulk of his armies into a built up but undefended territory of Player B's. It's undefended so Player A sacks a building. Next, Player B moves. He counterattacks but is wiped out, resulting in 'no enemy units remaining,' so Player A sacks another building. Next Player C sees this as an opportunity to stick it to Player B as well and moves a lone Legion in to combat Player A, looses the legion, and Player A sacks on Player B's territory a third time. Is this legal?

Here's another situation. Player A has 3 units and Player B has one, together in the same territory after combat, so it's at war. Player C moves 3 units into the territory and both A and C indicate their armies attack Player B's (B scores no hits so his choices here don't matter). Players A and C score 2 hits a piece with their 3 units each, and Player B's 1 unit absorbs all 4 hits (and is destroyed). Is this legal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Is this legal?
dead jawa (#18672),

In your second situation, Player C gets to choose who he will attack. If he attacks Player B with all of his units, then Player A will be a bystander. Assuming Player C wins, the province will still be at war, only with units from A anc C remaining. Whoever has the first turn in the next military phase gets to choose whether to abandon the province by moving out of it or attack (possibly with reinforcements moved in.)

If Player C chooses to attack Player A or Players A and B, Player A will have to defend. He does not get a second chance to attack Player B.

Each Player moves and then attacks in the military phase. The turn then passes to the next player. They do not all move, then all attack. Once a player has moved and then attacked in his turn in the military phase, he does not attack any more. He can only defend when another player moves into his provinces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Is this legal?
henrikbe (#18840),

The rule you quote says specifically that you are allowed to move your legions out of a province at war in your movement phase. If any of your units are in a province with another player's when your combat phase occurs, though, you must attack with them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Is this legal?
henrikbe (#18863),

The rule you quote wouldn't apply on a subsequent turn. Movement rules then apply. You may move any unit you want, as long as you are moving it to an adjacent province through a shared border or through a chain of triremes. The presence of enemy units do not inhibit movement as long as this is observed.

This situation is also explicity dealt with in the FAQ:

Q : In a province at war at the end of the previous turn, is the combat compulsory?

A : Only if you doesn't move and remains in the occupied province. A fortresse may not flee and has to combat.
---------

In fact, if you wanted to, you could move a unit into an "at war" province to attack the enemy units there and then move your units that were originally in that province into another province and attack or occupy that other province. You can even wait until after the results of combat to decide whether to make that move. Each unit may move and attack once per turn. You also have to attack with any units that finish their movement in a province with another player's unit(s). However (as is made explicit in the FAQ) you do not have to finish all movement before starting your first attack. You can move some, attack with those, then move others and attack with them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.