BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Elysium good for new gamers? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Halowell

Maryland
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just getting into board games, and am looking for a game with great replay value that's scalable from 2 to more players, and has some depth of strategy.
My wife is not quite as enthusiastic about games as me, but she has been enjoying Carcassonne, King of Tokyo, and Forbidden Island.

I've been considering games like Dominion, Takenoko, Cyclades, and Elysium as a next step. I also personally enjoy 7 Wonders.

Do you guys think that Elysium would be a good mix of styles (as we haven't played very many games yet), and fairly easy to learn?

My wife would probably be turned off by a steep learning curve or game that requires excessive brain power.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HenningK
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I like Elysium, but it can be a little complex at the start, especially because there are lots of cards with different texts coming up each turn. It is not a game I would teach non-gamers if I know they would be pit off by a game that might be too complex or brain-burny.

My advice would be Dominion. It is simpler and goes very well with most non- or casual gamers. It is also extremely replayable and simply one of the best games around (yes, better than Elysium in my mind).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Halowell

Maryland
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Appreciate the advice! Dominion would probably be a good choice.
I definitely feel drawn to the nice artwork in Elysium though.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ronald fraigun
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Get them into easier games first, this one too complicated for brand new gamers

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Arroyo
United States
Hermitage
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb