Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

One Night Ultimate Vampire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Death methods vs. protection methods rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've noticed that some methods of death trump some methods of protection and vice versa. For example, the Bodyguard protects from the Hunter, yet The Master cannot be protected if he is in Love.

I was wondering if we could get a definitive list of what trumps what...

As far as I can see, there are three methods of being killed:

• The vote
• Lover is killed
• Pointed at by Hunter that is killed

and three methods of being protected:

• Being the Prince
• Pointed at by a Bodyguard
• The Master pointed at by Vampire

So that gives us nine situations. I'll list them, along with what I think happens, although I may have misunderstood or guessed wrong.

• Most votes + Prince - 2nd most votes dies in his place (clear from rules).
• Most votes + Bodyguard - 2nd most votes dies in their place (clear from rules).
• Most votes + The Master - 2nd most votes dies in his place (I assume)

• Lover + Prince - Prince dies (A guess from The Master ruling)
• Lover + Bodyguard - Player dies (A guess from The Master ruling)
• Lover + The Master - The Master dies (from ruling)

• Hunter + Prince - Hunter ignored (from Bodyguard/Hunter ruling)
• Hunter + Bodyguard - Hunter ignored (from ruling)
• Hunter + The Master - Hunter ignored (from Bodyguard/Hunter ruling)

Basically, I guess I'm making the assumption that the protection is the same regardless of its type and it's the type of death that can trump the protection. In other words, death by Mark of Love cannot be avoided, but death by Hunter can. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Mantuano
United States
Hamilton Square
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tokens take precedence over Artifacts which take precedence over roles

The Lover's Mark kills you no matter what

Cases 4-6 cited in your post are correct because of the mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oninoted wrote:
Tokens take precedence over Artifacts which take precedence over roles

Actually, Artifacts have the highest priority, I think. That's what was stated here, and I believe the same was said in the Kickstarter comments.

Quote:
The Lover's Mark kills you no matter what

Cases 4-6 cited in your post are correct because of the mark

While I agree with the result, I don't think this reasoning is sound. I believe the trump order is used only with Artifacts and Marks that change your side. The Mark of Love does not change your side, so I'm not sure this is the reason being used here.

Yes, we do know that The Master in Love does die from my other thread, but it is clear the Master would not die if he were protected and his lover does not die. Your explanation would mean he loses his protection in this case too!

Another problem your explanation has is seen when you try to apply the correct trump order to the following two players:

• Prince Card, Mark of Love and no Artifact
• Villager Card, Mark of Love and Cloak of the Prince Artifact

Both players are clearly Princes in Love, but the former would die according to your explanation, but the latter would not as the Artifact has precedence. I really don't think that there should be a difference between these two player types, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Mantuano
United States
Hamilton Square
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
in case of a lover related death the prince role or artifact does not protect against broken hearts (it protects against votes only)

If either were voted to death, the death would go to the next number of votes. If the 2nd highest vote also had the lover mark, then the prince (role or artifact) would die
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Mantuano
United States
Hamilton Square
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just checked the KS thread, order is:

Marks then Artifacts then roles
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oninoted wrote:
Just checked the KS thread, order is:

Marks then Artifacts then roles


Uh...

Bezier Games (Kickstarter) wrote:
Zen: Please note that you would actually be on the village team with Ronald's example, as the Artifacts override the Marks.


Bezier Games (Kickstarter) wrote:
Watson: from the rules: "When playing with Artifacts, role-changing Artifacts (like the Claw of the Werewolf) always override a player’s card and Mark. For instance, the Cudgel of the Tanner Artifact overrides the Mark of the Vampire (which overrode the team of that player’s original card), making that player a Tanner and not a Vampire."


Seems pretty clear to me. Also makes it clear that you don't use the order with Artifacts that are not role-changing. Could you post what you think is saying the opposite, please?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Mantuano
United States
Hamilton Square
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops, I must read that backwards. My mistake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Wallis
msg tools
mbmb
Clipper wrote:

• Most votes + Prince - 2nd most votes dies in his place (clear from rules).
• Most votes + Bodyguard - 2nd most votes dies in their place (clear from rules).
• Most votes + The Master - 2nd most votes dies in his place (I assume)

• Lover + Prince - Prince dies (A guess from The Master ruling)
• Lover + Bodyguard - Player dies (A guess from The Master ruling)
• Lover + The Master - The Master dies (from ruling)

• Hunter + Prince - Hunter ignored (from Bodyguard/Hunter ruling)
• Hunter + Bodyguard - Hunter ignored (from ruling)
• Hunter + The Master - Hunter ignored (from Bodyguard/Hunter ruling)


So basically:
- Most votes is prevented, but we move to 2nd most votes.
- Killed because of mark of the lover overrides any form of protection.
- Hunter kill is prevented.

I think your summary is probably correct.. but lets see..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dok Indigo
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Where can I find the Bodyguard/Hunter ruling?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zsolt Farkas
Hungary
Gyömrő
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hexendoktor wrote:

Where can I find the Bodyguard/Hunter ruling?

Hunter:
https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/109882/english-rules-one-...

Bodyguard:
https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/109880/daybreak-rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dok Indigo
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fkif wrote:
Hexendoktor wrote:

Where can I find the Bodyguard/Hunter ruling?

Hunter:
https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/109882/english-rules-one-...

Bodyguard:
https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/109880/daybreak-rules


Thanks, I know those rules. I thought there was some special ruling regarding a killed Hunter pointing at a target that is also protected by a bodyguard pointing at it. I didn't see that.

Hunter rule says: If the Hunter dies, the player he is pointing at dies as well (regardless of how many votes his target receives).

Bodyguard rule says: When everyone votes, the player that the Bodyguard points to cannot be killed. If that player received the most votes, the player with the next most votes (at least two) is killed.

From the text alone I could see this going either way, with a tendency towards the kill. Hunter says votes do not matter, Bodyguard is pointing, pointing is voting (?) so does not matter, target is killed. Bodguard says, when voting, target can not be killed, Hunter dies after voting, so kills after voting, Bodyguard protection wore off?

I think we never had the situation that a Hunter was shooting at a Prince or at the target of a Bodyguard. We most often only use one no-wake role.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the ruling:

toulouse wrote:
Bodyguard power overrides the Hunter power, so the Werewolf does not die.

Sad day for the village. cry
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.