Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Voyages of Marco Polo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Free Travel rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kred raiders
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
If I receive a free travel action, may I move up to 6 spaces, provided that I pay money and/or camels as required when indicated on the board. i.e. my basic travel movement normally +18 is free?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Johnson
Canada
St.John's
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
designer
“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done, the Dornishman’s taken my life, But what does it matter, for all men must die, and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”
badge
"Oak and iron guard me well, or else I'm dead and doomed to hell." - Andal proverb.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're talking about the move icon on some contracts, gold 5 in the market, and some town bonuses/cards. I'm pretty sure it's just the equivalent of action 'Move 1 by paying 3 gold + necessary map costs,' though you don't have to pay 3 gold cost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eeeville wrote:
If you're talking about the move icon on some contracts, gold 5 in the market, and some town bonuses/cards. I'm pretty sure it's just the equivalent of 'Move 1 by paying 3 gold + necessary map costs.'


You don't pay the 3 money travel cost, only the costs printed on the board.

Supplement wrote:
Move your figure one space on the map. You do not need to pay the basic movement cost, although any additional costs (camels or coins) must still be paid. Place a trading post as usual if your movement ends in a small or large city.
Note: If a player cannot benefit from that movement, for example, because he does not have the necessary camels, that movement is lost.
Hint: Extra moves may allow you to place multiple trading posts in the same turn. For example, if after moving, you get an extra move that takes you into another city.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kredwood wrote:
If I receive a free travel action, may I move up to 6 spaces, provided that I pay money and/or camels as required when indicated on the board. i.e. my basic travel movement normally +18 is free?

Only 1 step of movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kred raiders
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks. I thought it was too good to be true.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Johnson
Canada
St.John's
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
designer
“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done, the Dornishman’s taken my life, But what does it matter, for all men must die, and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”
badge
"Oak and iron guard me well, or else I'm dead and doomed to hell." - Andal proverb.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RoadHouse wrote:
Eeeville wrote:
If you're talking about the move icon on some contracts, gold 5 in the market, and some town bonuses/cards. I'm pretty sure it's just the equivalent of 'Move 1 by paying 3 gold + necessary map costs.'


You don't pay the 3 money travel cost, only the costs printed on the board


That's how I've played it... I could have worded it better though. Edited my above statement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Golovanov
Russia
St. Petersburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Free travel action (from contract) is mandatory or I may pass?
Maybe I want to keep my camels or money and not to spend them on travel (in case if all routes are "camel" routes or paid).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sasha_spb_ru wrote:
Free travel action (from contract) is mandatory or I may pass?
Maybe I want to keep my camels or money and not to spend them on travel (in case if all routes are "camel" routes or paid).


It is not mandatory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.