Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Start of round Hand limit question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
You Win
msg tools
I am a bit confused with the ruling of hand limit when you are standing in/next to a city/castle keep at the beginning of a round.

The rulebook (page 4, One round of the game, 2g) specify that "Draws card up to his handlimit. (This may be increased if he is on or next to a keep or city)". But the site description say increase your hand limit AT THE END of a turn.

So at the beginning of a round, if a player is standing in or next to a keep/city, do they increase their hand size?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of your turn when you draw cards
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ali Cali
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
philmcd wrote:
At the end of your turn when you draw cards

The original poster's confusion is at the start of the round, not at the end of a turn within a round.

When you draw cards at the beginning of a round, you do take into account the keep/city bonus (but not both!) and also any effects from the prior round (mostly from Lost Legion, such as Mountain Lore).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vadim Golembo
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, before you draw your hand for the turn do the following:

1) look at your current hand size (Experience token on player card)

2)choose one that applies [A] or [B]:

A) see if your next to or in a Keep.
if the Keep has your shield token on it, your hand size is
+(total Keeps anywhere with your shield on them).

[or, not and]

B) if your next to or are in a city with your shield token on it
your hand size is +1
but if your also the leader of this city, hand size is +2 instead.

then draw your hand.

Atleast that's how I see it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
You Win
msg tools
Alright, thanks guys =)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
N0mE wrote:
2)choose one that applies [A] or [B]:

A) see if your next to or in a Keep. ...

B) if your next to or are in a city with your shield token on it
your hand size is +1
but if your also the leader of this city, hand size is +2 instead.


This isn't actually "pick one." Per the rules, you use the one that has the higher bonus.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.