Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Great Battles of Alexander: Deluxe Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Barbarian impetiuosity rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eyron BlackRed
Czech Republic
Brno
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
How exactly works this special rules? This rule is decribed so vague!
What happens when impetious unit enters EZOC of another enemy unit (not target of barbarians)? Barbarians enter shock combat? Try to leave ezoc and continue pursue original missile target?

Actually, I'm quite dissapointed... This is really 5th edition? With so many uncertainties...(When MCC is finished? can be activated in next OC activation? Why Diadochoi conuters are not marked any way to recognize, that they are from expansion and have even same names as counters from core game!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryszard Tokarczuk
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From what I understand, if impetuous unit enters EZOC, they stop. If they themselves have an enemy unit in EZOC (be it an original target or something else that stands in a way), they need to Shock attack.

(MCC leaders are never actually finished because they are in fact never activated - at least not like regular leaders with Initiative are... they only allow to move units expending less Individual Orders than normally - so yes, they can be "activated" in next OC activation;

Diadochoi counters - well, we players can only sort those counters in plastic bags or trays...)

Hope that helps!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
RAW, nothing requires a unit under impetuosity to shock a non-missile unit. So you would have two choices - choose to shock, and the impetuosity comes off, or choose not to, and the impetuosity stays there. If the unit gets free of the enemy ZOC it has to keep chasing after missile armed units.

My personal house rule for this one is that impetuosity comes off after the initial activation, regardless of whether the unit manages to shock or not (it is still obliged to try to shock a missile-armed unit if it can). Otherwise you can have ludicrous situations with the barbarians chasing skirmishers all over the map, for turns on end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Chandler
Arizona (AZ)
flag msg tools
Gott Mit Uns!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whenever a unit with Barbarian Impetuosity suffers a cohesion hit from Enemy missile fire during an enemy Orders Phase, it undergoes a TQ check.

If the roll is less then the TQ rating, nothing happens.
If the die roll is greater then the units TQ, place a Barbarian Impetuosity/Must (BI) Attack marker on top of that unit.

The Above does NOT apply to any tribal unit that is;

1. Already in an Enemy Zone of Control, and
2. is stacked with or adjacent to a Tribal Leader, or
3. is fired on through its rear hexside.

At The start of the very next Tribal leader activation, even if its the next turn, all units with Barbarian Impetuosity are moved in a straight line towards the nearest enemy missile-Armed unit in shock.

This movement is not part of the leaders activation but is in addition to. They (BI Units) must endeavor to shock attack that enemy unit before they may withdraw. After all BI movement has taken place the leaders activation may continue as normal.

When a unit with a BI marker engages in shock, remove the marker.

This is from the Alexander 4th Edition Scenario book on the battle of Lyginus.

My question is, if these units move for a second or even third time do they suffer the usual hit in cohesion, or is it a "freebie"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.