35 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Tzolk'in: The Mayan Calendar» Forums » General

Subject: Any Fair Game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
rounak jain
msg tools
I beat a master at BGA in a 2P game who consistently scores 190+ and looses less than 10% of his games (in his last 50 games). I am only a so-called expert. After the game, I asked him if he was experimenting or playing. He said the reason for his loss was bad starting tiles. I am extremely disappointed with Tzolkin after that game and have decided to never play it again. I had a suspicion that the starting tiles and first player gave an unfair advantage but never thought of the impact to be so huge. Kindly suggest me a fair game. I am thinking of chess but I rather take some advice first before investing my time again. Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Charters
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
rounak wrote:
I am extremely disappointed with Tzolkin after that game and have decided to never play it again.
This seems like a pretty extreme reaction to me. If you don't like how the starting tiles are generated, why not just do a face-up draft of some type.....or an auction.....or give everyone the same starting position.

The core mechanics of the game are still sound....and very engaging.

Spoiler alert on chess: white has a higher win % than black....so the starting position matters there as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicola Bocchetta
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I add, but I'm no expert, that maybe with the starting tiles he get he should have used a different strategy; instead (maybe) he went for his same "old" strategy, and that time it wasn't the right thing to do.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Yaure
United States
Plymouth Meeting
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
rounak wrote: