Bill Holmes
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
Brawling Brothers!
badge
Team Brandon!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First a thousand pardons if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it by searching.

Here is the Scenario, we were playing a 3 person game of Brigadoon. We had closed one location, left one open to get the spells from it, and failed to close one. We find the Villain and defeat him, so he escapes to a random open location. There are 5 locations total only 2 are closed, 2 have the henchmen defeated but left open, and 1 still mostly unexplored. We played it like this:
1. 1 villain and 2 blessing are shuffled and placed in the open locations.

My questions are:
what happens if you encounter the henchmen first in the unexplored location, but that location also has the villain?

How do you know if the villain is even there?

Thanks in advance.
Bill
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eirik Uthus
Norway
0468 Oslo
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If you defeat the henchman you can attempt to close to location. If you succeed and discover that the Villain is in the location deck when removing the rest of the cards in the location deck. You remove all the other cards from the location and leave the Villain at the location. That location is not closed.

2. Your'e supposed to locate the villain, so you won't know where it is until you run into it by exploring, or find him because you've defeated a henchman and succeded to close a location.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Holmes
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
Brawling Brothers!
badge
Team Brandon!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Eirik,

.... and I assume if the Villain comes up before the henchman and you defeat him his henchman is also closed with the rest of the cards from that location...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For reference:

RotR Rulebook p13 wrote:
If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement, search through the location deck, take out any villains, and banish the other cards. Any villains you found become the entirety of the location deck, and the location is not closed—but at least you know where the villains are! If you didn’t find any villains, perform the When Permanently Closed effect and flip the location card over.


So, when you go to close the location, if you find a villain(s) in the cards, you set it aside, banish the other cards, shuffle the villain(s) back up and put them back in the location, which is still open.

If you find a henchman, nothing special happens. You just banish the henchman.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jones
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And a little strategy tip after the villain runs to an unknown open location: most locations don't start with a blessing in them, so if you explore and find one, then the villain is not in that deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.