Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Stratego Waterloo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Artillery "Hit-and-Run" Tactic allowed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Reinhard S.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hallo,

if I understand correctly, it is allowed to use the 3 Moves of one Side to move one single Piece three times - correct?

If so, there is an interesting move, when two rows of Artillery are facing each other just out of firing range (with 3 empty spaces in between).

In my turn I can:
Move 1: Move 1 Space towards the enemy line.
Move 2: Fire and eliminate the enemy Artillery
Move 3: Move 1 Space backwards

Can I do this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
frida lavassani
Azerbaijan
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was under impression this is considered two separate move in between attack (fire) which is not legal.

Once you complete the movement and begin attack (fire) you can not move again.






 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason St.Just
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As long as you still have your commander and commnder-in-chief you can perform three actions each turn.

An action can be:

-Move
-Fire
etc...

So your artillery piece can:

Action 1 - Move one ahead
Action 2 - Fire
and then finally...
Action 3 - Move one back



Kind regards,
Jason St.Just
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reinhard S.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I was correct.

Thank You for that quick Response.

As the Opponent can do the same (although not in the same row, as he just has been eliminated) two lines of Artillery (Batteries) can decimate each other. I think this nicely represents Battery-Fire and Counter-Battery-Fire - an important element at the Battle of Waterloo...

Great Game, Great mechanics..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reinhard S.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Moon wrote:
I was under impression this is considered two separate move in between attack (fire) which is not legal.

Once you complete the movement and begin attack (fire) you can not move again.



This Game was good game mechanics, but - unfortunatly - sometimes misleading Rules - and that is in ALL 4 languages.

If You have Commander in Chief and Commander You have three Actions.

Each of These Action can be either:
MOVE or
ATTACK (Cav. & Inf.) or
FIRE (Arty.) or
(or move out of reserve or Play Card...)

When moving, Pieces can move up to
1 Space (Artillery),
2 Spaces (Heavy Infantry),
3 Spaces (Light Infantry) or
unlimited number of Spaces (Cavalry) in straight line.

Obviously the rules wanted to clarify, that while it is allowed to move MORE than one space in one Action (i.e. Heavy Inf. = 2 Spaces) nevertheless there is only 1 Attack allowed - PER ACTION.
And that Attack always Ends the Move (like the Rook/Tower in Chess)
But that concerns ONE ACTION.

If that was the 1st Action and a 2nd / 3rd are left - more MOVES - and more ATTACKS - can follow.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Deneeve
msg tools
mbmbmb
Reinhard Sabel wrote:

This Game was good game mechanics, but - unfortunatly - sometimes misleading Rules - and that is in ALL 4 languages.



Do you know all the 4 languages? whistlewhistle

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reinhard S.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nessy1 wrote:
Reinhard Sabel wrote:

This Game was good game mechanics, but - unfortunatly - sometimes misleading Rules - and that is in ALL 4 languages.



Do you know all the 4 languages? whistlewhistle

Mark


Well, Yes - at least enough to understand written rules.
German +++, English ++, French + and Dutch - well - (+).

Further problems can be solved by reading BBG
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.