Perry Lee
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was reading through the rulebook and came across this example in section 9.9.

"Example 2: Germany and Italy are at war with the CW and
Germany is at war with the US. German and Italian bombers fly a
strategic bombardment mission against London. US FTRs can fight
the German bombers because they are at war with Germany. They
can’t fight the Italian bombers because they are not at war with
Italy, so the Italian bombers automatically clear through to the
target. If a Commonwealth FTR had also intercepted, you would
fight the whole thing as one combat because the Commonwealth is
at war with both Germany and Italy. If the Commonwealth FTR
were shot down, the Italian bombers would then be cleared
through."

I'm still a newer player and my opponent is playing that if the USA declares war on Germany it automatically includes Italy. I know that Germany and Italy share one entry pool and Japan as a separate entry pool, but must separate declarations of war be made against each major power?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Koens
United States
Watsonville
California
flag msg tools
badge
marks the spot.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose Germany could have declared war against the US for some reason. So the US is not yet at war with Italy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From 9.4:

Quote:
If it (the US) attempts declarations of war against both Germany and Italy in the same step, resolve it as one attempt, rather than one for each. If the attempt succeeds, it would count as 2 declarations for US entry purposes (see 13.3.2).


So it's the US player's option. Usually, the US will DOW both Germany and Italy on the same attempt - but not required to.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.