Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Possession and Overpay rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthieu Fontaines
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

I wondered if it is possible to overpay (Guild mecanism) when you possess (Alchemy Mecanism).
The logical answer seems "yes", but I'd like confirmation
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you get to a Possession turn:
1. It is the turn of the player to your left (assuming you're the one who played Possession).
2. You get to see their hand.
3. All in-game decisions they would normally make, you get to choose for them.
4. Any card they would gain, you gain instead.
5. Any card they trash, they set aside and discard it at the end of that turn.
6. When the turn ends, they get another turn and all the Possession effects end.

So in their Buy phase, yes you can choose that they overpay for a card like Doctor or Stonemason. Then *they* get the overpay effect (except that if the effect gains them a card, you gain it instead), then they *would* gain the card but you gain it instead.

So if you chose for them to buy Stonemason, and overpaid by $4, then you choose two $4 Action cards for them to gain which you gain instead.

If you chose for them to buy Doctor, and overpaid by $4, *they* reveal four cards from their deck (one at a time) which you choose whether they put back, discard or trash - and if the latter, then the card is set aside and then discarded at the end of their turn.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthieu Fontaines
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot, it seemed logical but a little powerfull
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a reason why Possession has one of the highest costs in the game. It's also pretty nasty with Ambassador, Masquerade and coin tokens.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.