Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gideon and Mak - attacks/turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Achilles Last Stand
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmb
Our campaign currently is using Mak and Gideon. We're late in the campaign and I'm trying to decide if we're playing correctly. Here's an example of a game round. spoilers follow...

Gideon with masterstroke

Mak with no escape and the ability that gives him a third action

Both heroes have these cards untapped.

Gideon gives Mak an attack action with command. Mak fires, uses no escape (exhausts) to fire a second time.

Gideon uses masterstroke to give a second command which is: Mak attack something.

Gideon rests; second action not that important.

Imperial players activates a group

Mak's turn...refresh all cards. Attack and use No Escape to attack a second time. With his second action, he attacks. Exhaust the card that gives him another action which he uses to attack.

That equals 7 attacks with Mak in a round. Two things come to mind:

1. Can Mak use No Escape when receiving an attack command from Gideon?
2. Can Mak use his second and third action to attack if he has already attacked twice in a round (first action plus No Escape)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tex_conway wrote:
Our campaign currently is using Mak and Gideon. We're late in the campaign and I'm trying to decide if we're playing correctly. Here's an example of a game round. spoilers follow...

Gideon with masterstroke

Mak with no escape and the ability that gives him a third action

Both heroes have these cards untapped.

Everything seems fine up to here.

Quote:
Gideon gives Mak an attack action with command. Mak fires, uses no escape (exhausts) to fire a second time.

This seems fine, provided both attacks are on the same target.

Quote:
Gideon uses masterstroke to give a second command which is: Mak attack something.

No problem here.

Quote:
Gideon rests; second action not that important.

Imperial players activates a group

Sure

Quote:
Mak's turn...refresh all cards. Attack and use No Escape to attack a second time. With his second action, he attacks.

This all seems fine again, provided the first two attacks are on the same target. At this point, Mak has suffered 4 strain using his abilities, but I assume he has Recovered some of it by spending surges.

Quote:
Exhaust the card that gives him another action which he uses to attack.

This is where things go wrong. Expertise can only be used after Mak uses an Interact action, it can't be used after an attack. The wording is, "1 <strain>: Exhaust this card during your activation after you interact. Perform 1 additional action during this activation."

Quote:
That equals 7 attacks with Mak in a round. Two things come to mind:

1. Can Mak use No Escape when receiving an attack command from Gideon?

Provided he didn't use it since the start of Mak's own activation, yes. The card is Refreshed at the start of each of Mak's activations, so if he used it during its previous activation, it won't be ready when Gideon gives him the Command.

Quote:
2. Can Mak use his second and third action to attack if he has already attacked twice in a round (first action plus No Escape)?

Mak can spend every action he has on attacks, if he wants. But as I said above, he only gets the third action when he interacts, so he can't do three attacking actions in a single activation.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tex_conway wrote:
1. Can Mak use No Escape when receiving an attack command from Gideon?
2. Can Mak use his second and third action to attack if he has already attacked twice in a round (first action plus No Escape)?

1. Yes, unless No Escape is already exhausted or Mak can't spend the strain required.

2. (Command/Masterstroke are Gideon's action, not Mak's.) Mak has his own two actions during his activation, and he can use both for attacks. (Getting 3 attacks if No Escape can be used on either one of those.)


Edit: use of Expertise is answered by Clipper.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Achilles Last Stand
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmb
thanks for the quick replies.

though not stated, I was inferring that the cards/abilities were always legally available with enough strain to spare.

It's the detail on expertise that I/we missed. The campaign is now wrapped up and this Gideon/Mak combo slaughtered everything. Noted in the future though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tala Mare
msg tools
mb
Tho you should see this less as 1 player performing 6 attacks, and more like 2 players performing 3 attacks each.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Achilles Last Stand
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmb
sure. three attacks by gideon with his starting pistol and no buffs would've been more helpful than six shots with Mak doing beaucoup damage
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.