Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

War of the Ring: Lords of Middle-earth» Forums » General

Subject: Optional Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
michael edwards
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Just got this and have a silly question.

If you include this expansion into the core game, do you have to include all of the content in its entirety, or can you pick and choose what you want to include?

For example, if we want to exclude Elrond, Galadriel and Gandalf's newer form but include the optional character cards for the fellowship members, can we do so?

Also, can you include just Gandalf's newer form into the game and exclude all the other stuff?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Poulter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well the new characters all have entry conditions (although the new Gandalf can enter from the start), so they don't have to be played in any case. So yes you can do what you like in that regards. Obviously you will be missing out on their benefits. Sméagol is the only one you do not choose, but he often does not turn up in any case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Andrew said, some of the Characters (such as alternate versions) have conditions for entry into the game, so you can simply omit them by choosing not to bring them in. As for the other expansion elements, only the alternate versions of the Fellowship Companions are designed to be optional. Picking and choosing among the other elements is fine, but just be aware that doing so may affect game balance adversely.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.