Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Guildhall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Weaver using the level 2 ability on a weaver? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luke
United Kingdom
Ipswich
flag msg tools
Hi all,

If you have two weavers out and play a third; can up return one of the weavers you already have out to your hand and then place two more into the guild hall ( as per the weavers level 2 ability)?

Reason I ask is because it seems like you can create an infinite loop turn after tun of playing a weaver to place two cards and return a weaver to your hand. Is this right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A J
United States
Riverside
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you could, in theory. Wouldn't always be the most efficient way to play your cards, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ellie K
United States
Crumstown
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lepruk wrote:
If you have two weavers out and play a third; can up return one of the weavers you already have out to your hand and then place two more into the guild hall ( as per the weavers level 2 ability)?

Reason I ask is because it seems like you can create an infinite loop ...


You can't create an infinite loop, Luke. Remember the only time you actually are allowed to apply a card's ability is when you play it as an ACTION. Meaning when you play from your hand into your Action Area, using one of your two available actions. When the Weaver's ability allows you to move a card to your Guild you merely move the card from your hand to your Guild and ignore its abilities. The same applies when the Historian moves discarded cards into your Guild. Same for the Trader. In these instances the cards are not played as actions and subsequently their abilities are not triggered.

If you are aware of all the stuff above and are asking if you can just play another Weaver, once again the answer is 'no'. The rules state, "You cannot play [play meaning as an action triggering the card's ability] more than one card of a given profession during a single turn." One turn, one Weaver.

If you mean neither of the above but are asking if when you pick up a Weaver you pick up the Weaver you played as action -- 'no' again. The cards that you've played as Actions do not become part of your Guild until the end of your turn. There are no cards whose Actions affect cards in your Action Area. So they can't be picked up. Your Action Area and your Guild are two different things during your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A J
United States
Riverside
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EllieK wrote:
Lepruk wrote:
If you have two weavers out and play a third; can up return one of the weavers you already have out to your hand and then place two more into the guild hall ( as per the weavers level 2 ability)?

Reason I ask is because it seems like you can create an infinite loop ...


You can't create an infinite loop, Luke. Remember the only time you actually are allowed to apply a card's ability is when you play it as an ACTION. Meaning when you play from your hand into your Action Area, using one of your two available actions. When the Weaver's ability allows you to move a card to your Guild you merely move the card from your hand to your Guild and ignore its abilities. The same applies when the Historian moves discarded cards into your Guild. Same for the Trader. In these instances the cards are not played as actions and subsequently their abilities are not triggered.

If you are aware of all the stuff above and are asking if you can just play another Weaver, once again the answer is 'no'. The rules state, "You cannot play [play meaning as an action triggering the card's ability] more than one card of a given profession during a single turn." One turn, one Weaver.

If you mean neither of the above but are asking if when you pick up a Weaver you pick up the Weaver you played as action -- 'no' again. The cards that you've played as Actions do not become part of your Guild until the end of your turn. There are no cards whose Actions affect cards in your Action Area. So they can't be picked up. Your Action Area and your Guild are two different things during your turn.


You can create an infinite loop over your turns, just not all in one turn.

Turn 1
1. Have two weavers down.
2. Play weaver.
3. Place 2 farmers in your guildhall and pick up weaver from guildhall.
4. End of turn place the played weaver into guildhall, so you have 2 weavers again.

Turn 2
1. Play weaver.
2. Place 2 assassins in your guildhall and pick up weaver from guildhall.
3. End of turn place the played weaver into guildhall, so you have 2 weavers again.

Aaaaand repeat. But the reason this doesn't break the game is because you can only so once per turn, is subject to actually having the cards to place legally, and others can trade or assassinate your weavers if it gets out of hand.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ellie K
United States
Crumstown
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ayejae wrote:
EllieK wrote:
Lepruk wrote:
If you have two weavers out and play a third; can up return one of the weavers you already have out to your hand and then place two more into the guild hall ( as per the weavers level 2 ability)?

Reason I ask is because it seems like you can create an infinite loop ...


You can't create an infinite loop, Luke. Remember the only time you actually are allowed to apply a card's ability is when you play it as an ACTION. Meaning when you play from your hand into your Action Area, using one of your two available actions. When the Weaver's ability allows you to move a card to your Guild you merely move the card from your hand to your Guild and ignore its abilities. The same applies when the Historian moves discarded cards into your Guild. Same for the Trader. In these instances the cards are not played as actions and subsequently their abilities are not triggered.

If you are aware of all the stuff above and are asking if you can just play another Weaver, once again the answer is 'no'. The rules state, "You cannot play [play meaning as an action triggering the card's ability] more than one card of a given profession during a single turn." One turn, one Weaver.

If you mean neither of the above but are asking if when you pick up a Weaver you pick up the Weaver you played as action -- 'no' again. The cards that you've played as Actions do not become part of your Guild until the end of your turn. There are no cards whose Actions affect cards in your Action Area. So they can't be picked up. Your Action Area and your Guild are two different things during your turn.


You can create an infinite loop over your turns, just not all in one turn.


Yes, what A.J. says. And technically it would only be infinite if you had an infinite number of cards in your hand. Eventually you're going to run short on unduplicated cards and have to draw twice or fill the Weaver chapter, thereby ending the infinite loop.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke
United Kingdom
Ipswich
flag msg tools
Thanks for the clarification all...

In the game we played this seemed unstoppable but it was probably just inexperience with the game .

Really appreciated the feedback thanks everyone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.