Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: help with frodo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
john bryant
msg tools
if an attack of 2 damage is dealt and it is unblocked can you put the damage on Frodo then he uses he response to rise the threat or does 2 damage kill Frodo 1st so he can not use his response
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
johnboyjr wrote:
if an attack of 2 damage is dealt and it is unblocked can you put the damage on Frodo then he uses he response to rise the threat or does 2 damage kill Frodo 1st so he can not use his response


The card reads, "Response: After Frodo Baggins is damaged, cancel the damage and instead raise your threat by the amount of damage he would have been dealt. (Limit once per phase.)"

Since the text of the card is "Cancel the damage", that means that the damage never gets applied to him. If it had said, "After he is damaged, heal him", then the damage would be applied and then healed, and it would have a chance to kill him if it was too high. But since it says "Cancel the damage", the damage never lands on him in the first place and so he can survive even an attack of, say, 6 damage from a Hill Troll.

But only once per phase -- so if you have a SECOND attack that goes undefended, and you've put the first one on Frodo, you won't be able to cancel the second one and it will probably kill him.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
john bryant
msg tools
thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Shuman
United States
Hilliard
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It may be worth emphasizing, though, that in the case of the Hill Troll, your threat will go up by 6, not by 4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.