Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mottainai» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two questions after first play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ric Bernat
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) For cards that say "After you complete a work..." or "After you complete a [material name] work...", do you get the benefit when you complete that card itself, or only on subsequent works you complete?

2) On the first player's first turn, when opponents' have their initial face-down task cards, does the first player get to use the opponents' face-down task(s) for Prayer or Craft, or is it as if the opponents don't have tasks yet (so no Prayer or Craft)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo Griebsch
Germany
Bochum
North Rhine-Westphalia
flag msg tools
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
badge
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

ricb wrote:
1) For cards that say "After you complete a work..." or "After you complete a [material name] work...", do you get the benefit when you complete that card itself, or only on subsequent works you complete?


Not 100% sure but I would say you get the effect because you completed a work...

ricb wrote:
2) On the first player's first turn, when opponents' have their initial face-down task cards, does the first player get to use the opponents' face-down task(s) for Prayer or Craft, or is it as if the opponents don't have tasks yet (so no Prayer or Craft)?


The opponents don't have tasks yet... I think this should compensate the start player advantage...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Williams
United Kingdom
St Just
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that it does count that work itself - I struggled with this at first as it's so often the case that games don't work this way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B-G
United Kingdom
Leeds
W Yorks
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes. There have been a few threads where Chris and Carl have clarified that (they will be connected to individual cards though and they may be old wordings, such is the joy of a public playtest).

2) No. They are just so that the players later in player order have something in the pool when they get to it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cieslik
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Banana!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes -- a work counts itself when completed, for triggered effects like that.

Face down tasks are indeed only there to seed the floor, you do not share them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ric Bernat
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
angelkurisu wrote:
Yes -- a work counts itself when completed, for triggered effects like that.

Face down tasks are indeed only there to seed the floor, you do not share them.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.