Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Fields of Arle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Small vehicles and fabrics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
This question was buried in another post but as of yet hasn't been answered. The rules state that a Small Vehicle:

*Allows you to upgrade Building Materials (to Timber/ Bricks) and Fabrics (to Clothing)

Is this a misprint in the rules?
As far as I can tell none of the fabrics fit on the Hand Cart or Wagon. Is the space rule for some reason different concerning small vehicles and fabrics?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Herren
United States
Kent
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The linen/summer wear fits in the wagon.

The index on page 19 says the wagon has "2 Single Spaces for loading that cannot be combined."

I've been playing it wrong. Thanks for asking the question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb

So this is correct then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kasper Bjering
Denmark
Ishoej
flag msg tools
Avatar
No - the linen/summer wear does not fit the wagon. The spaces are turned so that they can't be combined.

My version of the rules states so (p.11):

Quote:
You cannot combine Single Spaces of the Wagon to fit bigger tiles.


Same principle of the Wagon is stated in the table (p.19).

Also in my rules there are pictures (p.10) where the small destinations (specifically Hage) is placed in the wagon. So this should be allowed.

I can't find the quote beginning this thread anywhere (could you give os a page number?).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Page 2 on the overview sheet under the equipment heading.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
moesjiff
United States
Gresham
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The quote is from the Overview sheet. The Equipment table at the top of page 2.

It is exactly the same text that is in the Function column for Large Vehicles, so I'm guessing some sort of cut and paste error or just a miss in proof reading.

Edit:
That's what I get for getting distracted. ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Cook
United States
Denton
Texas
flag msg tools
*beep*
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm assuming you are talking about this section of the rules on page 10:

Quote:
At any time during the Work Phase, you can load your Vehicles
(even right after you got them). This is not considered an action –
you can do this on top of your actions. Please note, the tiles you
put on your Vehicles will only be removed from there at the end
of the Work Phase. (See page 8 for details on emptying Vehicles.)
You can load your Vehicles with…

– Building Materials, i.e. Wood and Clay, to upgrade them (to Timber/Bricks)
– Fabrics, i.e. Linen, Woolen and Leather, to upgrade them (to Summer/Winter/Leather Wear)
– Travel Destination Tiles of your color to receive Food at the given destination


Are you confused because it does not specify whether the vehicles are large or small?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
No I think I understand the space rules which as far as I can tell say the small vehicles can't carry fabrics. But the rules overview sheet says that they can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kasper Bjering
Denmark
Ishoej
flag msg tools
Avatar
supervalkyrie wrote:
No I think I understand the space rules which as far as I can tell say the small vehicles can't carry fabrics. But the rulses overview sheet says that they can.


It is on my Overview-sheet as well. Obviously it is a miss print... as Boardgamejeff wrote, it is the same function text as for large vehicles, and why have two texts, if it is the same?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please take a look at the original rules (German).

There you can see, that the pictures are positioned different from the english rules.

Basically the part you are referring to:
" Large Vehicles: for Timber, Bricks, and Clothing, as
well as for all of the large Travel Destinations"
refers NOT to the small vehicle with two compartments, but to all the large vehicles! The small vehicle with two compartments is a "Wagon", explained in the article above:
"Handcarts and Wagons: to produce Timber and
Bricks continuously, to sell a Plow for Food in Dornum,
and to receive Plows when building the Smithy"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kasper Bjering
Denmark
Ishoej
flag msg tools
Avatar
Almecho wrote:
Please take a look at the original rules (German).

There you can see, that the pictures are positioned different from the english rules.

Basically the part you are referring to:
" Large Vehicles: for Timber, Bricks, and Clothing, as
well as for all of the large Travel Destinations"
refers NOT to the small vehicle with two compartments, but to all the large vehicles! The small vehicle with two compartments is a "Wagon", explained in the article above:
"Handcarts and Wagons: to produce Timber and
Bricks continuously, to sell a Plow for Food in Dornum,
and to receive Plows when building the Smithy"


You are right that the placement of the illustration and the text on page 20 of the english rules can be misleading: http://boardgamegeek.com/file/download/pc77723ryk/EN-Arle-Ru...

But that is not what we dicuss here. We discuss the missprint on page 2 of the english overview sheet. See the "Equipment"-table description of "functions" here: http://boardgamegeek.com/file/download/pc7tqgxg8z/EN-Arle-In...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry! My fault!

I just compared the German and the English version of the index document, and in the German version it is correct.
Seems like a copy & paste error in the English one.

In the German version there is no mention of fabrics, and also for the travel locations the word "small". :-)

So an error in the English rules! (Or better: Index Sheet)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.