Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advance the Active Mystery - Hunting the Thousand rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shub's mystery "Hunting the Thousand" - something along the lines of placing killed monsters on the mystery card until their total toughness is double the number of investigators....

Sorry, text not in front of me...

Advance the active mystery. Would you say that this would count as 1 toward the required toughness? I feel ripped off... LOL.

I suppose I could mark this with a token of some kind?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Draw a random monster from the cup and put it on the mystery. (That's the rules, not my interpretation, by the way.)
8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Xelto wrote:
Draw a random monster from the cup and put it on the mystery. (That's the rules, not my interpretation, by the way.)


Awesome thanks! Much better than what I was going to do.

Come on Star Spawn!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(ɹnʎʞ)
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct and if anyone cares for the official rulebook text on page 6:

Quote:
If the active Mystery requires one or more tokens to be placed on the card, place one token of that type on the card.

• Clues, Gates, and Monsters placed on the active Mystery in this way are drawn from the Clue pool, Gate stack, and Monster cup, respectively.

The option of "Advancing the Mystery" can be an extremely powerful gamble here and adds nicely to the strategic depth of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Avio Marine
Poland
flag msg tools
Xelto G wrote:

Draw a random monster from the cup and put it on the mystery. (That's the rules, not my interpretation, by the way.)

Kyur wrote:
That's correct and if anyone cares for the official rulebook text on page 6:

Quote:
If the active Mystery requires one or more tokens to be placed on the card, place one token of that type on the card.

• Clues, Gates, and Monsters placed on the active Mystery in this way are drawn from the Clue pool, Gate stack, and Monster cup, respectively.

The option of "Advancing the Mystery" can be an extremely powerful gamble here and adds nicely to the strategic depth of the game.

You are wrong!
That mystery requires to spend clue tokens, so the rule is:

"If the active Mystery requires an investigator to spend one
or more Clues, place one Clue from the Clue pool on the
card. Any investigator may spend Clues placed on the active
Mystery when resolving an effect of that card."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules wrote:
When investigators are instructed
to advance the active Mystery, the active investigator resolves
one of the following effects that applies:
Rules wrote:
If the active Mystery requires one or more tokens to be placed on the card, place one token of that type on the card.
Rules wrote:
If the active Mystery requires an investigator to spend one
or more Clues, place one Clue from the Clue pool on the
card.

Two possible effects apply here, and you resolve one of them, as instructed.
As there is no criterion specified which one, you get to choose one.

Source: Strange Remnants rules insert.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Avio Marine
Poland
flag msg tools
haroth9842 wrote:
Rules wrote:
When investigators are instructed
to advance the active Mystery, the active investigator resolves
one of the following effects that applies:
Rules wrote:
If the active Mystery requires one or more tokens to be placed on the card, place one token of that type on the card.
Rules wrote:
If the active Mystery requires an investigator to spend one
or more Clues, place one Clue from the Clue pool on the
card.

Two possible effects apply here, and you resolve one of them, as instructed.
As there is no criterion specified which one, you get to choose one.

Source: Strange Remnants rules insert.

Im not sure if these effects are equivalent.
The second rule says more:
"Any investigator may spend Clues placed on the active
Mystery when resolving an effect of that card."

So, if active mystery has another effect, that requires spend clue tokens, you place one clue on the card. Then, you may spend those clues when resolving an effect of that card.

The first rule apply to case, when active mystery requires clues only or when 'resolving an effect' tokens does not requires clues (probably not possible?) or when the clue is on the card and 'Advance the Active Mystery' effect occurs (then you put on the card 'resolving an effect' token).

If not, so what's the point of the second rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
The "clues to spend" rule when advancing the mystery is only relevant if none of the named tokens are directly placed to mark progress (otherwise that rule would apply), but clues can still be spent to work on the Mystery in some other form.
Example might be our dear friend the Crown of the Serpent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AvioM wrote:
haroth9842 wrote:
Rules wrote:
When investigators are instructed
to advance the active Mystery, the active investigator resolves
one of the following effects that applies:
Rules wrote:
If the active Mystery requires one or more tokens to be placed on the card, place one token of that type on the card.
Rules wrote:
If the active Mystery requires an investigator to spend one
or more Clues, place one Clue from the Clue pool on the
card.

Two possible effects apply here, and you resolve one of them, as instructed.
As there is no criterion specified which one, you get to choose one.

Source: Strange Remnants rules insert.

Im not sure if these effects are equivalent.
The second rule says more:
"Any investigator may spend Clues placed on the active
Mystery when resolving an effect of that card."

So, if active mystery has another effect, that requires spend clue tokens, you place one clue on the card. Then, you may spend those clues when resolving an effect of that card.

The first rule apply to case, when active mystery requires clues only or when 'resolving an effect' tokens does not requires clues (probably not possible?) or when the clue is on the card and 'Advance the Active Mystery' effect occurs (then you put on the card 'resolving an effect' token).

If not, so what's the point of the second rule?

Actually, what would be the point of the first rule mentioning monsters if that wasn't the point of it? There are several mysteries that require spending clues, but I can't think of any others that involve putting monsters on the mystery.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As there are several different opinions here, I have asked Nikki Valens for an official clarification.
Here's her response:
Nikki Valens wrote:
When an investigator advances this Mystery, he could do either of the two effects that apply. If he chooses to place a Monster on the Mystery, a random Monster will be drawn from the Monster cup. If he chooses to place a Clue on the Mystery, that Clue can be used by any investigator to later put a defeated Monster on the Mystery.

In most cases, it is likely that placing a Monster directly will be more effective, but there is the chance of drawing a Monster with low toughness. On the other hand, if another investigator is capable of defeating a Monster that has 4 or 5 toughness but does not have the Clues needed, getting the extra Clue could be more beneficial.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.