Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Double dipping when discarding? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some character cards have actions triggered by discarding them. For example:

Westfold Horse-Breaker has "Action: Discard Westfokd Horse-Breaker to choose and ready a hero."

Some event cards have actions triggered by discarding a character.

For example:

Ride to ruin: "Action: Discar a Rohan ally to choose a location. Place 3 Progras tokens on that location."

Can I avail myself of both actions by discarding one such character and using the event card at the same time?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kārlis Jēriņš
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
I'm a sheep.
badge
A lovely, fluffy sheep.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Each action is initiated and resolved completely before moving on to the next. It's different with responses that initiate when a specific thing happens (such as Prince Imrahil's ability to ready when a character leaves play), but when it comes to actions, you initiate action A, pay its costs, then resolve its effects, and only then can you initiate action B (and again, pay its costs and then resolve its effects). In both of the actions you quoted, you have to pay the cost of discarding the character, so it's no longer in play to be discarded by the time you get to the second action.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. I figured as much, but just wanted to make sure wasn't passing up an advantage!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P Santos
United States
LAS VEGAS
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmb
NO. Each of those cards require a cost which must individually be paid/satisfied. so, if you pay only 1 cost, you only get one effect.

Westfold Horse-breaker's cost is indicated by the phrase stated before the word "to". So, the cost is "Discard WEstfold Horse-breaker".

Ride to Ruin's cost is "Discard a Rohan ally".

So, if you discard Westfold Horse-breaker,even though it is also a Rohan ally, you have only paid for one cost and only get one effect (whichever's cost you complied with).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K C

Centennial
Colorado
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
But you can use that effect trigger another effect. For instance, on Gamling:
Response: After a Rohan ally you control is discarded from play, exhaust Gamling to return that ally to your hand.

It's a great synergy with cheap allies, like Snowbourn Scout or Westfold Horse-Breeder.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you everyone.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook Page 25 wrote:
Paying Costs

Many cards are written in a “pay or exhaust X to do
Y” manner. When confronted with such a construct,
everything before the word “to” is considered the cost,
and everything after the word “to” is considered an
effect.

Costs can only be payed with cards or resources that a
player controls. If an effect is canceled, the cost is still
considered to have been paid.



FAQ wrote:
(1.10) Limitations on Actions

Actions are only limited by whether or not a player can
pay the cost of the action, or by built in limitations on
the card itself, such as “limit once per round.”
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.