Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building USA units before 1942 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dennis Culhane
United States
Lititz
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
If the USA is a WEST Satellite in say 1939. Can the WEST player build US units in the USA. IF so I assume they can not move out of the US until the WEST is at war. In our game the WEST wanted another full strength CV available in 1942.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Evans
United States
Richmond
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From this thread: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1417822/usa-forces-west...


cbesinque wrote:
OK, got it. Mark has a good point.

In 8.42, "USA Forces" is capitalized, meaning it is used in a game-defined sense, with a reference to 8.45 USA Forces. Speaking of USA Forces that "arrive" does distinguish them from units being built by Production.

There is nothing in the rules to indicate that building USA units by Production is treated any differently than for any other Satellite (remembering that they can't leave the USA until the West is at War).

So if the USA becomes a West Satellite in 1936 Diplomacy (3 Influence), USA cadres can be built in 1937 Production and onward by the West (though it is hard to see a reason to prefer them to building British/ French units at that point). Interested to hear the situation where this might be desirable . . .

IMO this makes sense for this game: if the USA is a bonafide West Satellite (military ally) and the West is at War (seemingly the only situation where building USA units would be desirable), there is no reason the USA should have to wait until 1942 to build military units.

Craig

PS: There is no way USA units can be built in 1936: the USA cannot be a West Satellite until 1936 Government (Diplomacy), which happens after 1936 Production.





So, yes. You may build up USA blocks early but: 1) USA must be a West Satellite. 2) They can't leave the USA until war is declared.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Setser
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Developer - "Bayonets & Tomahawks" and "Imperial Struggle"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Related question - when the US becomes a satellite, there's no building of Western Units like if other satellites come online, correct? Just US units.

Actually, when other minors come onto a side, you place a unit up to the Muster value in each space of the newly allied minor. Do you do that for the US units? They just can't move from their until 42?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bsets wrote:
Related question - when the US becomes a satellite, there's no building of Western Units like if other satellites come online, correct? Just US units.

Actually, when other minors come onto a side, you place a unit up to the Muster value in each space of the newly allied minor. Do you do that for the US units? They just can't move from their until 42?


When the US becomes a satellite, it gets two fortresses. That's it. In 1942 the units start appearing automatically. As noted, you could build other units then or before if it's a satellite earlier. You don't muster British units into the US.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.